Organization of Arab Petroleum Exporting Countries (OAPEC)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

Established in 1968 to promote co-operation and close ties between member states in economic activities related to the oil industry; to determine ways of safeguarding their legitimate interests, both individual and collective, in the oil industry; to unite their efforts so as to ensure the flow of oil to consumer markets on equitable and reasonable terms; and to create a favourable climate for the investment of capital and expertise in their petroleum industries.

Members. Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia*, United Arab Emirates. *Tunisia’s membership was made inactive in 1986.

  • Headquarters: PO Box 20501, Safat 13066, Kuwait.

  • Website:

  • Email:

  • Secretary-General: Abbas Ali Naqi (Kuwait).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations