Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages 1-15
  2. Graham Oppy, N. N. Trakakis
    Pages 1-14
  3. Martin Davies, Stein Helgeby
    Pages 15-54
  4. Mark Weblin
    Pages 55-87
  5. Graeme Marshall
    Pages 89-120
  6. Brian F. Scarlett
    Pages 121-148
  7. John Burnheim, Paul Crittenden
    Pages 149-174
  8. Aubrey Townsend
    Pages 175-210
  9. Lynda Burns
    Pages 211-240
  10. Graham Oppy
    Pages 291-327
  11. John Bigelow
    Pages 361-377
  12. Stephen Hetherington
    Pages 379-411
  13. Frederick Kroon, Denis Robinson
    Pages 413-443
  14. Peter Forrest, John Bishop, Ken Perszyk
    Pages 445-477
  15. Ismay Barwell, Justine Kingsbury
    Pages 479-509
  16. Justin Oakley
    Pages 511-541
  17. Freya Mathews
    Pages 543-591
  18. Catriona Mackenzie
    Pages 593-635

About this book


The History of Philosophy in Australia and New Zealand is a comprehensive account of the historical development of philosophy in Australia and New Zealand, from the establishment of the first Philosophy Chair in Australasia in 1886 at the University of Melbourne to the current burgeoning of Australasian philosophy. The work is divided into two broad sections, the first providing an account of significant developments and events during various periods in the history of Australasian philosophy, and the second focusing on ideas and theories that have been influential in various disciplines within Australasian philosophy. The work consists of chapters contributed by various philosophers, on specific fields of inquiry or historical periods within Australasian philosophy.


Idealism in Australian and New Zealand philosophy Indigenous (or Aboriginal, or Maori) philosophy Philosophy of science in Australian and New Zealand philosophy Realism in Australian and New Zealand philosophy William Mitchell

Editors and affiliations

  • Graham Oppy
    • 1
  • N.N. Trakakis
    • 2
  1. 1.School of Philosophical, Historical, and International StudiesMonash UniversityClaytonAustralia
  2. 2.School of PhilosophyAustralian Catholic UniversityFitzroyAustralia

About the editors

Graham Oppy is Professor of Philosophy at Monash University, and Chair of Council of the Australasian Association of Philosophy. He is author of: Ontological Arguments and Belief in God (1996), Philosophical Perspectives on Infinity (2006), Arguing about Gods (2006), Reading Philosophy of Religion (2010, with Michael Scott), The Best Argument against God (2013), and Reinventing Philosophy of Religion (2014); and editor of: The History of Western Philosophy of Religion (2009, with Nick Trakakis), A Companion to Philosophy in Australia and New Zealand (2010, with Nick Trakakis), and The Antipodean Philosopher (2011, 2012, with Nick Trakakis, Lynda Burns, Steve Gardner, Fiona Leigh and Michelle Irving).

N.N. Trakakis is a Research Fellow in the School of Philosophy at the Australian Catholic University, and has previously taught philosophy at Monash University and Deakin University. He works primarily in the philosophy of religion, and his publications in this area include The God Beyond Belief (Springer 2007) and The End of Philosophy of Religion (Continuum 2008), as well as articles published in journals such as Philosophy Compass, Sophia, Religious Studies, and International Journal for Philosophy of Religion. Together with Graham Oppy, he co-edited the five-volume History of Western Philosophy of Religion (Acumen 2009) and A Companion to Philosophy in Australia and New Zealand (Monash University Publishing 2010). Apart from philosophy, he also writes poetry and has published four volumes and a chapbook to date.

Bibliographic information