## Materials for Light and Smart Structures and for Rural Technology Addressed at MRS-I Conference

The 15th annual general meeting of the Materials Research Society of India (MRS-I) was held at Banaras Hindu University (BHU) in Varanasi, India, February 9-11. The inaugural function of the meeting was held in the main hall of Swatantrata Bhawan (i.e., Independence Building), which included the rendering of the traditional Kulgeet (i.e., anthem) of the University, composed by Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar. At this event, D. Chakravorty, president of MRS-I, presented medals and certificates to MRS-I award recipients. Earlier in the day, Chakravorty (of the Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, IACS) gave a technical presentation on electron transport in nanomaterials and ceramic glasses. P. Ramachandra Rao, vice chancellor of BHU, presented highlights of the growth of materials industries in India. The technical session began with a lecture by MRS-I Distinguished Materials Scientist of the Year, T.V. Ramakrishnan, FRS (BHU). This was followed by the MRS-I/ICSC Superconductivity and Materials Science annual prize lectures by D. Pandey (BHU) and S.B. Krupanidhi (Indian Institute of Science, IISc). The two afternoon sessions were devoted to Medal lectures. B.D. Malhotra (National Physical Laboratory, NPL), A.K. Nandi (IACS), D. Basu (Central Glass and Ceramic Research Institute, CGCRI), V. Venugopal (Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, BARC), M. Vijayalakshmi (Indira Ghandi Centre for Atomic Research, IGCAR), and T.L. Prakash (Centre for Materials for Electronics Technology, CMET) presented their work on different aspects of materials advancement.

At the opening session on "Materials for Light and Smart Structures," Rao addressed the relevance of the theme for automobile and packaging industries. U. Ramamurthy (IISc) and A. Gokhale (Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory) delivered lectures on "Metallic Foams" and "Al-Li Alloys: Science and Technology." A special session was held





Materials Research Society of India officers and the MRS-I Medalists for 2004. Standing (left to right): V. Venugopal (BARC), T.L. Prakash (CMET), B.D. Malhotra (NPL), B.R. Mehta (Indian Institute of Technology, IIT), B.S. Murty (IIT), B.C. Pai (RRL), Pushan Ayyub (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research), S.V. Subramanyam (vice president-general secretary of MRS-I, IISc), and H.L. Bhat (joint secretary of MRS-I, IISc). Sitting (left to right): R.M.V.G.K. Rao (National Aeronautical Laboratory), Debabrata Basu (CGCRI), Arun K. Nandi (IACS), T.V. Ramakrishnan (IISc and BHU), D. Chakravorty (president of MRS-I, IACS), Dhananjai Pandey (BHU), S.B. Krupanidhi (IISc), Suman Kumari Mishra (NML), and M. Vijayalakshmi (IGCAR).

on "Materials for Rural Technology," chaired by E.S. Raja Gopal (Bangalore). D. Bhatnagar (Technology, Information, Forecasting & Assessment Council) initiated the discussion by indicating the prospects and importance of the area. S.K. Tripathy (Varanasi) addressed the importance of herbal medicines and patent protection in the GATT era. S. Ghosh (National Metallurgical Laboratory, NML) and Yegneswaran (Regional Research Laboratory, RRL) gave glimpses of the activities being pursued in their respective laboratories concerning rural technology.

Two special sessions were devoted to poster presentations in the areas of biomaterials, building materials, ceramics and glasses, composites, electronic materials, thin films, magnetic materials, materials characterization, metals and alloys, nanomaterials, polymer/rubber,

and processing techniques. The following were selected for the Best Poster Award: M.M. Kulkarni and A. Venkateswara Rao (Shivaji University), "MTMS-Based Superhydrophobic Silica Aerogels"; A.K. Singh, D. Pandey, and O. Zaharko (BHU), "Modifications to the Phase Diagram of  $(1-x)Pb[(Mg_{1/3}Nb_{2/3})O_3]-xPbTiO_3$ Ceramics"; G.G. Umarji, S.A. Ketkar, R. Marimuthu, G.J. Phatak, T. Seth, D.P. Amalnerkar, and U.P. Mulik (CMET), "Photoimageable Conductor Composition for High-Density Electronic Packaging of Smart Devices and Allied Subsystems"; and S.N. Bhat, A. Sharma, S. Srinivas Rao, and S.V. Bhat (IISc), "Spin Probe ESR Studies of PEGxLiClO<sub>4</sub> Solid Polymer Electrolyte System."

S.V. SUBRAMANYAM Vice President-General Secretary, MRS-I

## Correction

In the article, "2004 Sōmiya Award Honors C.N.R. Rao and Anthony K. Cheetham," in *MRS Bulletin* **29** (May 2004) page 343, incorrect biographical information was given about C.N.R. Rao. Rao is a member of most of the science academies in the world including The Royal Society, London, and the U.S National Academy of Sciences. He is not chancellor of Assam University.