

diffraction capability and made high-P/ low-T gas/fluid cells for neutron experiments. He has conducted original research on novel superhard materials and on innovative superionic materials. Formerly, he served as a professor of physics at the University of Nevada and was appointed as the executive director of the High Pressure Science and Engineering Center (a DOE/ NNSA Center of Excellence) from 2010 to 2016. He has presented tutorial lectures at MRS meetings, set up satellite meetings, and organized special sessions.

Ehrenfried Zschech (2020)

Zschech is department head for microelectronic materials and nanoanalysis at the Fraunhofer Institute for Ceramic Technologies and Systems, Germany. His responsibilities include multiscale materials characterization and reliability engineering. He holds an adjunct professorship at the Faculty of Chemistry of Warsaw University, Poland, as well as honorary professorships for nanomaterials at Brandenburg University of Technology and for nanoanalysis at Technische Universität Dresden, Germany. He has acted as a German Materials Research Society Board member and as a Federation of the European Materials Societies (FEMS) executive member. He served as FEMS president in 2012–2013. Zschech has been a member of the Steering Committee of the European Technology Platform for Advanced Engineering Materials and Technologies since 2013, and an Operational Management Board member of the European Materials Characterization Council since 2016.

MRS invites nominations for awards program

The Materials Research Society (MRS) 1 is seeking award nominations beginning March 1 until April 1, 2019. These awards will be presented at the 2019 MRS Fall Meeting, December 1–6, in Boston.

The MRS Awards Program recognizes outstanding contributors to the progress of materials research and their exciting and profound accomplishments. Nomination forms and details about eligibility and nomination criteria are available from the MRS website at www.mrs.org/awards.

Von Hippel Award acknowledges outstanding interdisciplinary work in materials research

The Von Hippel Award, first presented to Arthur R. von Hippel, whose interdisciplinary and pioneering research typified the spirit of the award, is the Society's highest honor. The recipient is recognized for brilliance and originality of intellect, combined with vision that transcends the boundaries of conventional scientific disciplines. The award includes a \$10,000 cash prize, honorary membership in MRS, and a unique trophy—a mounted ruby laser crystal, symbolizing the many faceted nature of materials research.

Turnbull Lectureship honors the career of an outstanding researcher and communicator

The David Turnbull Lectureship recognizes the career of a scientist who has made outstanding contributions to understanding materials phenomena and properties through research, writing, and lecturing, as exemplified by the life work of David Turnbull. While honoring the accomplishments of the recipient, the Turnbull Lectureship is intended to support and enrich the materials research community. The recipient will give a technical lecture of broad appeal at a designated session of the 2019 MRS Fall Meeting. The Turnbull Lecturer will receive a \$5,000 honorarium and a citation plaque.

MRS Medal recognizes a recent discovery or advancement in materials science

The MRS Medal recognizes an exceptional achievement by an individual in materials research. The Medal is awarded for a specific outstanding recent discovery (approximately in the last 10 years) or advancement that is expected to have a major impact on the progress of any materials-related field. The award consists of a \$5,000 cash prize, an engraved and mounted medal, and a citation certificate.

Materials Theory Award honors advances made in materials structure and behavior

The Materials Theory Award recognizes exceptional advances made by materials theory to the fundamental understanding of the structure and behavior of materials. This award is intended to honor both those who have pioneered the development of a new theoretical approach and those who have used existing approaches to provide significant new insight into materials behavior. The annual award consists of a \$5,000 cash prize, a presentation trophy, and a certificate. MRS acknowledges the generosity of Toh-Ming Lu and Gwo-Ching Wang in endowing this award.

MRS Nelson "Buck" Robinson Science and Technology Award for Renewable Energy

This award recognizes a student (bachelor's, master's, or PhD), postdoc, or other young professional through five years following the highest degree attained for the development of sustainable solutions for the realization of renewable sources of energy. The annual award consists of a \$5,000 honorarium, meeting registration, annual MRS membership, and reasonable travel expenses to attend the Meeting at which the award is presented. MRS acknowledges Sophie Robinson for endowing this award in memory of her father, Nelson "Buck" Robinson.

The Kavli Foundation Early Career **Lectureship in Materials Science** recognizes significant contributions

The Kavli Foundation Early Career Lectureship in Materials Science is an honor that recognizes significant novel contributions to materials science by a researcher in the early stages of his/her career. The award includes a \$1,000 honorarium and a two-night hotel stay to attend the Meeting to present a talk.