

MRS reports election results for 2014

www.mrs.org/governance

embers of the Materials Research Society have elected a Vice President (who will serve as President in 2014), a Secretary, and five directors to join the 2014 MRS Board of Directors. The Board is composed of the officers and 12 to 21 directors, established by Board resolution.

The officers of the Society are the president (who serves as chair of the Board), the vice president (who is also the president-elect), the secretary, the treasurer (a position appointed by the Board of Directors), and the immediate past president. Terms of office expire at the end of the year indicated in parentheses. The asterisk (*) designates those who are newly elected. The annual election ended October 16, 2013.

The Board of Directors is organized into the following governing committees: Audit, External Relations, Finance, Governance, Nominating, Operational Oversight, and Planning. Chairs and Members of the committees are either designated by policy or are appointed by the president.

2014 MRS Officers

President

Tia Benson Tolle

The Boeing Company

Immediate Past President

Orlando Auciello

University of Texas at Dallas

Vice President (President-Elect)

* Oliver Kraft

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Secretary

* Sean J. Hearne Sandia National Laboratories

Treasurer

Michael R. Fitzsimmons

Los Alamos National Laboratory

2014 Board of Directors

Shenda M. Baker (2014) Synedgen, Inc.

- * Alexandra Boltasseva (2016) Purdue University
- * C. Jeffrey Brinker (2016) Sandia National Laboratories and University of New Mexico

David Cahen (2015)

Weizmann Institute of Science

Stephen J. Eglash (2015)

Stanford University

Chang-Beom Eom (2014)

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Susan Ermer (2014)

Lockheed Martin

Eric Garfunkel (2014)

Rutgers University

Sossina M. Haile (2015)

California Institute of Technology

Andrea M. Hodge (2015)

University of Southern California

* Hideo Hosono (2016)

Tokyo Institute of Technology

* Kornelius Nielsch (2016)

University of Hamburg

Fiona C. Meldrum (2015)

University of Leeds

Eric A. Stach (2015)

Brookhaven National Laboratory

Stephen K. Streiffer (2014)

Argonne National Laboratory

* Loucas Tsakalakos (2016)

General Electric—Global Research Center

