Gibala Leads Executive Committee in 1999



Robert J. Nemanich

Ronald Gibala (University of Michigan) automatically assumes the presidency of the Materials Research Society for 1999, after serving as Vice President (President-Elect) in 1998. He succeeds Robert J. Nemanich from North Carolina State University, who now serves MRS as Immediate Past President.

Harry A. Atwater (California Institute of Technology) has been elected Vice President (President-Elect). Chuang Chuang Tsai (Applied Komatsu Technology) remains Secretary, serving the second of her two-year term, and Merrilea J. Mayo (Pennsylvania State University) has been elected for a two-year term as Treasurer. Mayo is currently serving as the 1998–1999 Optical Society of America/Materials Research Society Congressional Science and Engineering Fellow, and will step into her role as Treasurer on September 1, 1999, when her Fellow tenure is completed. In the interim, Alan J. Hurd (Sandia National Laboratories) has been appointed by the MRS Council to serve as Treasurer through August 31, 1999. The Council has elected two Councillors to serve one-year terms on the Executive Committee: Michael J. Aziz (Harvard University) and Alex King (State University of New York

at Stony Brook).

The newly elected MRS Councillors are John W. Cahn, National Institute of Standards and Technology; Anthony K. Cheetham, University of California—Santa Barbara; A. Lindsay Greer, Cambridge University; Stephen J. Pennycook, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Caroline A. Ross, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; and **Rudolf M. Tromp**, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center. They will serve three-year terms beginning January 1, 1999, and join the following current members of Council: Michael J. Aziz; Katayun (Katy) Barmak, Lehigh University; Theodore M. Besmann, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; David J. Eaglesham, Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies; Alex King; Karen Maex, IMEC, Belgium; Amy J. Moll, Hewlett Packard; Tim Sands, University of California—Berkeley; and Alan I. Taub, Ford Motor Company.

Ronald Gibala

President

Ronald Gibala is a professor in and former chair of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Michigan. He directs the Center for High Temperature Structural

Metallic Materials, an interdisciplinary program funded by the Air Force Office of Scientific Research. His current research interests are in the area of mechanical behavior of materials, particularly intermetallic alloys and related quasi-brittle

After receiving his PhD degree in 1964 in metallurgical engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Gibala taught at Case Western Reserve University from 1964 to 1984 and was associate director and director of the CWRU Materials Research Laboratory during the latter part of that time. He joined the University of Michigan in 1984.

Gibala has served on numerous advisory committees and participated in various professional societies. He served as Councillor on the MRS Executive Committee in 1996 and 1997, and he was elected Vice President (President-Elect) for 1998. He has also served as MRS symposium organizer and meeting chair.

Harry A. Atwater

Vice President (President-Elect)

Harry A. Atwater is associate professor of applied physics at the California