neering, University of Minnesota, 200 Union Street SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455, USA; phone 612-625-4873; fax 612-625-5012; e-mail polla@ee.umn.edu.

Frances Ross is a staff scientist at the National Center for Electron Microscopy at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL). She received her PhD degree from Cambridge University. At LBNL she supervises the highvoltage and in situ electron microscopes. Her interests include dynamic experiments in transmission electron and atomic resolution microscopy, as well as applied aero- and hydrodynamics. She is currently attempting to grow porous silicon in situ in a transmission electron microscope and is studying domain switching in ferroelectrics.

I.F. Scott was educated at Harvard University and Ohio State University. He was a member of technical staff in the Quantum Electronics Research Department at Bell Telephone Laboratories before becoming a professor of physics at the University of Colorado. He has been in Australia for three years and is Dean of Science at the University of New South Wales. He has published more than 300 scientific papers, mostly on ferroelectrics. Scott can be reached at the University of New South Wales, Sydney, NSW 2052, Australia; phone 61-2-385-5750; fax 61-2-385-5939; e-mail j.scott@unsw.edu.au.

M.C. Scott received his BS degree in chemistry from the University of

California—Santa Cruz and carried out graduate studies at the University of Colorado—Boulder before joining Symetrix Corporation in 1991. He has been issued four patents and has coauthored 20 publications in the area of metalalkoxide ferroelectric thin-film chemistry.

S.K. Streiffer received his BS degree from Rice University and his PhD degree from Stanford University, both in materials science. He then spent a year and a half at the Max-Planck-Institut für Metallforschung in Stuttgart, Germany on an Alexander von Humboldt fellowship. He is currently a staff member with the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at North Carolina State University. His research interests include oxide thin films, constrained phase transformations in ferroelectric and ferroelastic materials, transmission electron microscopy, and other methods of structural characterization. Streiffer can be contacted at North Carolina State University, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Raleigh, NC 27695-7907, USA; phone 919-515-7234; fax 919-515-7724; e-mail streiffe@eos.ncsu.edu.

S. Summerfelt is a member of the technical staff at the Materials Science Laboratory at Texas Instruments where he works on high-dielectric constant materials for memory applications. He received his BS degrees in mathematics, physics, and metallurgical engineering from Iowa State University and his MS and PhD degrees in

materials science and engineering from Cornell University. His research interests are in deposition, etching, and electrode materials, and diffusion barriers for high-dielectric constant materials. Scott is a coauthor of articles in over 50 publications and has 12 U.S. patents.

W.L. Warren received his

BS and PhD degrees in engineering science from The Pennsylvania State University. He has been a senior member of the technical staff in the Electronic Ceramics Department at Sandia National Laboratories since 1990. He currently works on the electronic characteristics and defect properties in thin-film and bulk ceramics such as silicon dioxide, silicon nitride, buried oxides, phosphors, and ferroelectrics. He is the author of over 125 publications and is the editor of two conference proceedings. He is a recipient of the American Ceramic Society's Henry Award, the Frank Fenlon Award at Penn State, the Xerox Materials Research Award, and the 1995 Institute of Electrical and **Electronics Engineers** (IEEE) Nuclear Space and Radiation Effects Conference and Hardened Electronics and Radiation Technology Conference best paper awards. Warren can be reached at the Advanced Materials Laboratory, Sandia National Laboratories, 1001 University Boulevard, Albuquerque, NM 87185-1404, USA; phone 505-272-7628; e-mail wwarren@ sandia.gov.

R.M. Waser studied physical chemistry at the TH Darmstadt in Germany. He received

his PhD degree in electrochemistry and joined the electronic-ceramics group of the Philips Research Laboratory in Aachen. He is in charge of investigations concerning the quality and the long-term reliability of dielectric materials and devices. In 1988 he was awarded the Carl Wagner Prize by the Max Planck Institute in Gottingen, in recognition of his research work on the protondefect chemistry in titanates. In 1994 he received the Edward C. Henry Award of the American Ceramic Society together with his coauthors K-H. Hardtl (Universität Karlsruhe)

and T. Baiatu (ABB Research) for their work on resistance degradation in titanates. Since 1992 Waser has held the chair for Materials Science in Electrical Engineering (IWE II) at the RWTH Aachen University of Technology. He is a member of the Materials Research Society, the American Ceramic Society, and national societies in Germany (VDE and Bunsengesellschaft für Physikalische Chemie). He has organized the Fourth International Conference on Electronic Ceramics. Waser has published over 80 technical papers on electronic ceramics. \square

Advertisers in This Issue

	Page No.
Bede Scientific -	28
High Voltage Engineering	inside front cover
Huntington Laboratories	outside back cover
Inorgtech Ltd.	45
Materials Education Council	58
MCNC Analytical Lab	81
Neocera, Inc.	5
New Focus, Inc.	inside back cover
Philips	3
Princeton University Press	82
Quesant Instrument Corporation	6
Sycon Instruments, Inc.	9
Thermionics Vacuum Products	4
Virginia Semiconductor, Inc.	66
VLSI Standards, Inc.	7
Voltaix, Inc.	8
Conformition about the conducts and a	

For free information about the products and services offered in this issue, fill out and mail the Reader Service Card, or FAX it to (312) 922-3165.

UPCOMING IN MRS BULLETIN SEPTEMBER 1996

Theme: Ultrahigh Density Information Storage Materials Guest Editor: Mark Kryder, Carnegie-Mellon University

Advertising Deadline: August 1, 1996