Committee. He has been a member of SESA since 1967 and is also a member of ASME.

## INCUMBENT OFFICERS

Continuing their terms as members of the Executive Board are Christian P. Burger, Iowa State University and

George E. Warren, Naval Civil Engineering Laboratory. David L. Willis, Detroit Diesel Allison—GMC, past-president: Stuart E. Swartz, Kansas State University, outgoing president: Clarence A. Calder, Oregon State University, treasurer; and Kenneth A. Gailone, SESA managing director, comprise the remainder of the Board.

## SESA and BSSM Launch Jointmembership Program

SESA and the British Society for Strain Measurement have established a joint membership program which they began offering to their memberships on January 1, 1983. The new optional benefit entitles a person, institute or corporation to full membership privileges in both societies for a low single fee. The officers of SESA and BSSM feel that this agreement supporting Anglo-American technological exchange will help to strengthen the international experimental-mechanics community by encouraging similar agreements among technical groups of other nations.

Annual benefits of the SESA/BSSM joint-membership package include four issues of the BSSM journal, Strain, which publishes state-of-the-art techniques and applications of established strain-measurement methods to unusual problems; twelve issues of EX-PERIMENTAL TECHNIQUES, four issues of EXPERIMENTAL MECHANICS and an SESA membership directory. In addition to these publications, members will receive special low rates for SESA/BSSM publications and the opportunity to participate in SESA's technical activities committees on Composite Materials, Fatigue, Fracture, Optical Methods, Structural Testing, Residual Stress, Strain Gages, Transducers and Modal Analysis.

Commercial and educational/scientific institutions are also well provided for by the SESA/BSSM Corporate Membership Program. As members, they are entitled to discounts on exhibit space (SESA conducts two exhibits

yearly, BSSM, one); savings on advertising rates (SESA and BSSM publications can potentially reach 11,000 engineers and scientists in 54 countries); a number of joint memberships; subscriptions and an edition of SESA's Annual Proceedings.

Since its introduction on January 1, 1983, the joint-membership program has generated great interest among BSSM and SESA members. Currently, there are 22 joint members, 13 from SESA and 9 from BSSM.

Two of the first persons to join the program are I.B. MacDuff, BSSM vice-chairman and Leo F. McCalvey, BSSM honorary secretary. A graduate of the Royal College of Science and Technology, Glasgow (which became the University of Strathclyde in 1964), Dr. MacDuff is presently a senior lecturer in the Department of Mechanics of Materials at the University of Strathclyde. His research interests include problems associated with the strength of rotating machinery and pressure vessels, and methods of experimental stress analysis.

Dr. MacDuff joined BSSM in 1965 and has served almost since that time on the Society's Scottish Region Committee—first as secretary, and then for the past five years as chairman. This Committee was responsible for organizing the successful BSSM/SESA Joint Conference which was held at the University of Edinburgh in 1981. Dr. MacDuff also served as editor of Strain in 1974 and 1975.

Leo McCalvey is currently testtower manager at International Research and Development Company Limited, where he supervises customers' projects dealing with strain, vibration, impact and special-purpose transducers. His involvement with strain analysis began when he joined the Electrical Research Department of C.A. Parsons and Company Limited, Newcastle, in 1954 and was asked to "become interested in the use of strain gages." At that company, he organized a group to conduct a range of tests, including static, vibration and elevated-temperature projects on steam-turbine generators and transformers.

Mr. McCalvey was a founding member of BSSM in 1964 and has been national honorary secretary since 1966. He is a regular contributor to BSSM conferences and has presented papers to a number of other organizations.

In addition to Dr. MacDuff and Mr. McCalvey, the following persons are among the first SESA/BSSM joint members.

lan M. Allison, University of Surrey H.B. Boyle (BSSM chairman), N.M.I. Limited

Christian P. Burger (SESA Executive Board member), Iowa State University

Clarence A. Calder (SESA treasurer), Oregon State University

Michael E. Fourney (SESA past president), University of California

Kenneth A. Galione (SESA secretary). SESA Headquarters

A. Ivey, Norcross, Georgia A. Kirk, Cheshire, England

H. Landau, Measurements Group, Inc. Thomas Leahy, Pasadena, CA

John B. Ligon (SESA president). Michigan Technological University Philip Metz, Research and Technology

Barry Pridham, Lancashire, England Robert J. Rinn (SESA vice-president). Measurements Group, Inc.

H. Schulz, Winzererstabe, Germany Peter K. Stein, Stein Engineering Services

A.F. Tolley, Worcester, England L. Vassilopoulos, Maritech, Inc. R.L. Welsh, Whessoe Heavy Engineering Ltd.

David L. Willis (SESA past-president).
Detroit Diesel Allison-GMC

Anyone wishing further information on the joint-membership program should contact SESA, at 14 Fairfield Drive, Brookfield Center, CT 06805; (203) 775-6373 or BSSM, 281 Heaton Road, Newcastic upon Tyne, NE6 50B; 0632 655273