## NORDIC COUNCIL

segment technologies, ground infrastructures, space transport systems and microgravity research.

*Headquarters:* 8–10 rue Mario Nikis, 75738 Paris Cedex 15, France. *Website:* http://www.esa.int *Director-General:* Jean-Jacques Dordain (France).

## CERN – THE EUROPEAN ORGANISATION FOR NUCLEAR RESEARCH

Founded in 1954, CERN is the world's leading particle physics research centre. By studying the behaviour of nature's fundamental particles, CERN aims to find out what our Universe is made of and how it works. CERN's biggest accelerator, the Large Electron Positron Collider (LEP), recreates conditions at the birth of the Universe. A yet more powerful accelerator, the Large Hadron Collider (LHC), is scheduled for completion during 2005. One of the beneficial byproducts of CERN activity is the Worldwide Web, developed at CERN to give particle physicists easy access to shared data. One of Europe's first joint ventures, CERN now has a membership of 20 member states: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom. Some 6,500 scientists, half of the world's particle physicists, use CERN's facilities.

Address: CH-1211 Geneva 23, Switzerland. Website: http://www.cern.ch Director-General: Dr Robert Aymar (France).

## CENTRAL EUROPEAN INITIATIVE (CEI)

In Nov. 1989 Austria, Hungary, Italy and Yugoslavia met on Italy's initiative to form an economic and political co-operation group in the region.

*Members.* Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine.

*Address:* Executive Secretariat, Via Genova 9, 34132 Trieste, Italy. *Website:* http://www.ceinet.org *e-mail:* cei-es@cei-es.org

## NORDIC COUNCIL

Founded in 1952 as a co-operative link between the parliaments and governments of the Nordic states. The co-operation focuses on Intra-Nordic co-operation, co-operation with Europe/EU/EEA and co-operation with the adjacent areas. The Council consists of 87 elected MPs and the committees meet several times a year, as required. Every year the Nordic Council grants prizes for literature, music, nature and environment.

*Members.* Denmark (including the Faroe Islands and Greenland), Finland (including Åland), Iceland, Norway, Sweden.

Address: Store Strandstræde 18, DK-1255 Copenhagen K, Denmark. Website: http://www.norden.org/ e-mail: nordisk-rad@norden.org President: Rannveig Guðmundsdóttir (Iceland).

63

B. Turner (Ed.), The Statesman's Yearbook

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2005