ALADI/LAIA

Organization of Central American States (ODECA) in Managua. Long-standing political and social conflicts in the area have repeatedly dogged efforts to establish integration towards the establishment of a common market.

Members. Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua.

A protocol to the 1960 General Treaty signed by all five members and Panama in Oct. 1993 reaffirmed an eventual commitment to full economic integration with a common external tariff of 20% to be introduced only voluntarily and gradually.

A common external tariff of 20% to be introduced only voluntarily and gradually. A Treaty on Democratic Security in Central America was signed by all six members at San Pedro Sula, Honduras in Dec. 1995, with a view to achieving a proper 'balance of forces' in the region, intensifying the fight against trafficking of drugs and arms, and reintegrating refugees and displaced persons.

In addition, the CACM countries signed a new framework co-operation agreement with the EC in Feb. 1993, revising the previous (1985) failing agreement between them, to provide support to CACM's integration plans.

Headquarters: 4a Avenida 10–25, Zona 14, Ciudad de Guatemala, Guatemala. *Secretary-General:* Haroldo Rodas Melgar.

CENTRAL AMERICAN BANK FOR ECONOMIC INTEGRATION (BCIE)

Established in 1960, the Bank is the financial institution of the Central American Economic Integration and aims to implement the economic integration and balanced economic growth of the member states.

Members. (Regional) Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua. (Non-regional) Argentina, China, Colombia, Mexico.

Official languages: Spanish, English. *Headquarters:* Apartado Postal 772, Tegucigalpa, DC, Honduras. *Website:* http://www.bcie.org *President:* Dr Harry Brautigam (Nicaragua).

LATIN AMERICAN INTEGRATION ASSOCIATION (ALADI/LAIA)

The ALADI was established to promote freer trade among member countries in the region.

Members. (12) Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Observers. (22) Andean Development Corporation (CAF), China, Commission of the European Communities, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Inter-American Development Bank, Inter-American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture (IICA), Italy, Latin American Economic System (SELA), Nicaragua, Organization of American States, Panama, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Spain, Switzerland, UN Development Programme, UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC).

Official languages: Portuguese, Spanish.

Headquarters. Calle Cebollati 1461, Casilla de Correos 20005, 11200 Montevideo, Uruguay.

Website: http://www.aladi.org

Secretary-General: Juan Francisco Rojas Penso (Venezuela).

B. Turner (Ed.), The Statesman's Yearbook 2005

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2004