AFRICAN DEVELOPMENT BANK

Established in 1964 to promote economic and social development in Africa.

Regional Members. (53) Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Dem. Rep. of), Congo (Rep. of), Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malaŵi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tomé e Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa (Rep. of), Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Non-regional Members. (24) Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Kuwait, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UK, USA.

Within the ADB Group is the African Development Fund, established in 1972, which provides development finance on concessional terms to low-income Regional Member Countries which are unable to borrow on the non-concessional terms of the African Development Bank. Membership of the Fund is made up of 25 non-African State Participants, the African Development Bank and the Nigerian Trust Fund.

Official languages. English, French. Headquarters: 01 BP 1387, Abidjan 01, Côte d'Ivoire. Website: http://www.afdb.org e-mail: afdb@afdb.org President: Omar Kabbaj (Morocco).

BANK OF CENTRAL AFRICAN STATES (BEAC)

The Bank of Central African States (Banque des Etats de l'Afrique Centrale) was established in 1973 when a new Convention of Monetary Co-operation with France was signed. The five original members, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of the Congo and Gabon, were joined by Equatorial Guinea in 1985. Under its Convention and statutes, the BEAC is declared a 'Multinational African institution in the management and control of which France participates in return for the guarantee she provides for its currency'.

Official language: French. *Headquarters:* Avenue Monseigneur Vogt, Yaoundé, Cameroon. *Website:* http://www.beac.int *Governor:* Jean-Félix Mamalepot.

Publications. Etudes et Statistiques (monthly bulletins); Annual Report; Directory of Banks and Financial Establishments of BEAC Monetary Area (annual); Bulletin du Marché Monétaire (monthly bulletins); Annual Report of the Banking Commission.

EAST AFRICAN DEVELOPMENT BANK (EADB)

Established originally under the Treaty for East African Co-operation in 1967 with Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda as signatories, a new Charter for the Bank (with the same signatories) came into force in 1980. Under the original Treaty the Bank was

104

B. Turner (Ed.), *The Statesman's Yearbook* © Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2003