Address: CH-1211 Geneva 23, Switzerland. Website: http://www.cern.ch Director-General: Prof. Luciano Maiani (Italy).

## CENTRAL EUROPEAN INITIATIVE (CEI)

In Nov. 1989 Austria, Hungary, Italy and Yugoslavia met on Italy's initiative to form an economic and political co-operation group in the region.

*Members.* (2003) Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine.

Address: Executive Secretariat, Via Genova 9, 34132 Trieste, Italy. Website: http://www.ceinet.org e-mail: cei-es@cei-es.org

## THE NORDIC COUNCIL

Founded in 1952 as a co-operative link between the parliaments and governments of the Nordic states. The co-operation focuses on Intra-Nordic co-operation, co-operation with Europe/EU/EEA and co-operation with the adjacent areas. The Council consists of 87 elected MPs and the committees meet several times a year, as required. Every year the Nordic Council grants prizes for literature, music, nature and environment.

*Members.* Denmark (including the Faroe Islands and Greenland), Finland (including Åland), Iceland, Norway, Sweden.

Address: Postboks 3043, DK-1021 Copenhagen K, Denmark. Website: http://www.norden.org/ President: Inge Lønning (Norway).

## NORDIC DEVELOPMENT FUND (NDF)

Established in 1989, the NDF is a development aid organization of the five Nordic countries, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden. NDF capital totals SDR 515m. and €330m. Credits are offered to developing countries, with poorer African, Asian and Latin American countries taking priority.

Address: Fabianinkatu 34, PO Box 185, FIN-00171 Helsinki, Finland. Website: http://www.ndf.fi e-mail: info.ndf@ndf.fi President: Jens Lund Sørensen (Denmark).

## NORDIC INVESTMENT BANK (NIB)

The Nordic Investment Bank, which commenced operations in August 1976, is the joint international financial institution of the Nordic countries. It finances investment

73 B. Turner (Ed.), *The Statesman's Yearbook* © Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2003