BRITISH ANTARCTIC TERRITORY

KEY HISTORICAL EVENTS. The British Antarctic Territory was established on 3 March 1962, as a consequence of the entry into force of the Antarctic Treaty, to separate those areas of the then Falkland Islands Dependencies which lay within the Treaty area from those which did not (i.e. South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands).

TERRITORY AND POPULATION. The territory encompasses the lands and islands within the area south of 60°S latitude lying between 20°W and 80°W longitude (approximately due south of the Falkland Islands and the Dependencies). It covers an area of some 660,000 sq. miles, and its principal components are the South Orkney and South Shetland Islands, the Antarctic Peninsula (Palmer Land and Graham Land) the Filchner and Ronne Ice Shelves and Coats Land.

There is no indigenous or permanently resident population. There is however an itinerant population of scientists and logistics staff of about 300, manning a number of research stations.

The territory was administered by a High Commissioner resident in Port Stanley, Falkland Islands until 1989 and thereafter by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office in London. Designated personnel of the scientific stations of the British Antarctic Survey are appointed to exercise certain legal and administrative functions.

Commissioner: P. M. Newton (non-resident). Administrator: Dr. M. G. Richardson (non-resident).

Fox, R., Antarctica and the South Atlantic, London, 1985 Parsons, A., Antarctica: the Next Decade. CUP, 1987

BRITISH INDIAN OCEAN TERRITORY

KEY HISTORICAL EVENTS. This territory was established by an Order in Council on 8 Nov. 1965, consisting then of the Chagos Archipelago (formerly administered from Mauritius) and the islands of Aldabra, Desroches and Farquhar (all formerly administered from Seychelles). The latter islands became part of Sevchelles when that country achieved independence on 29 June 1976.

TERRITORY AND POPULATION. The group, with a total land area of 23 sq. miles (60 sq. km) comprises 5 coral atolls (Diego Garcia, Peros Banhos, Salomon, Eagle and Egmont) of which the largest and southernmost, Diego Garcia, covers 17 sq. miles (44 sq. km) and lies 450 miles (724 km) south of the Maldives. The British Indian Ocean Territory was established to meet UK and US defence requirements in the Indian Ocean. In accordance with the terms of Exchanges of Notes between the UK and US governments in 1966 and 1976, a US Navy support facility has been established on Diego Garcia. There is no permanent population.

Commissioner: D. R. MacLennan (non-resident). Administrator: H. D. H. Cairns (non-resident).

Commissioner's Representative: Cdr H. F. Hatton.

Flag: Blue and white wavy stripes with the Union Flag in the canton and a crowned palm-tree in the fly.

240

B. Hunter (Ed.), The Statesman's Year-Book © Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1996