ANNOUNCEMENT

Shape Memory Editor-in-Chief Honored

© ASM International 2022

The journal *Shape Memory and Superelasticity* is pleased to announce that the Editor-in-Chief, Professor Huseyin Sehitoglu, is the winner of the 2022 Morris Cohen Award. This award, given by The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS), recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the science and/or technology of materials properties. Criteria the winner must meet include having an established record of research, publications, and/or patents in the field of materials properties and a quality and relevance of work that has had or is likely to have a significant and lasting impact on the development of the discipline. The award can honor a single significant achievement or a larger body of work.

Professor Sehitoglu, who is the John, Alice, and Sarah Nyquist Endowed Chair at the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, is cited for "outstanding lifelong contributions to the understanding of the fatigue of metals." When learning of the award, Prof. Sehitoglu said, "It is an honor to receive this TMS award paying tribute to Morris Cohen whose papers I have studied and learned from especially on the role of stress state on phase transformations. His papers on the role of transformation dislocations helped me formulate the energetics of transformation in my own work on shape memory alloys. It is especially rewarding to receive this award from TMS considering their very high standards."



Prof. Huseyin Sehitoglu

The award includes a lifetime membership to TMS and was presented at the TMS 2022 Annual Meeting and Exhibition, held February 27–March 3, 2022, at the Anaheim Convention Center & Anaheim Marriott in Anaheim, California, USA. Congratulations to Professor Sehitoglu!

Publisher's Note Springer Nature remains neutral with regard to jurisdictional claims in published maps and institutional affiliations.

