EDITORIAL

Welding in the world – 2022 update

John C. Lippold¹

Accepted: 3 February 2022 / Published online: 8 February 2022 © International Institute of Welding 2022

Technical editors

Prof. John C. Lippold (United States) Prof. Dr.-Ing Thomas Böllinghaus (Germany) Prof. Américo Scotti (Sweden/Brazil) Dr. Majid Farajian (Germany)

Managing editor Erdmuthe Raufelder (Germany)

In 2021, Volume 65 of *Welding in the World* published 186 papers and over 2400 pages of fundamental and applied research associated with materials joining and allied technologies. The distribution of papers published in 2021, arranged by Technology Area, is shown in the accompanying figure. The journal continues to publish papers in a wide range of

technology areas associated with both welding and joining of materials and additive manufacturing.

Over 450 papers were submitted to the journal in 2021. The acceptance rate for these papers was 35% and average time to first decision was ~ 80 days. As shown in the accompanying chart, the journal impact continues to increase based on both Impact Factor (IF) and CiteScore, with an anticipated IF of 2.4 expected for 2021. The number of paper downloads again increased dramatically in 2021 to over 210,000, up 40% from 2020. Also, the time from paper submission to online publication was reduced to ~ 200 days. Further improvements are anticipated in 2022 with a goal of reducing time to online publication to 150 days.

John C. Lippold lippold.1@osu.edu



¹ Welding Engineering Program, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Ohio State University, Columbus, OH, USA



Despite the challenges created by holding another online IIW Annual Assembly in 2021 and the reliance on virtual working unit meetings, paper submission to WitW remained strong even with the drop in recommended papers from the Working Units. The simplified keyword system introduced in 2020 has helped streamline the peer review system and facilitated the assignment of papers to the most appropriate reviewers.

In October 2021, Dr. Majid Farajian (Germany) was added as a fourth Technical Editor. Dr Farajian's areas of expertise are fracture, fatigue and structural integrity. Additions were also made to the Editorial Board which now consists of 44 members spanning the range of technology areas published in the journal. This group has been critical in assisting the Editors with the prescreening of open submission papers and the overall execution of the peer review process. There are now approximately 300 active Principal Reviewers and Reviewers for WitW. The members of the Editorial Board are listed on the website.

The Editors wish to thank all who contribute to the continued success of the journal including authors, working unit chairs and co-chairs, principal reviewers and members of the review panel, the Editorial Board, the IIW Secretariat, and the support staff at Springer. The remarkable progress in the growth and impact of the journal would not be possible without this support structure.

WitW Data	2013	2014	2015	2016	2017	2018	2019	2020	2021
Invited papers from IIW WUs	130	131	115	130	126	135	156	82	94
Open submission papers received	-	49	172	278	256	305	380	420	364
Papers published	82	84	90	114	120	120	160	179	186
Pages published	945	925	930	1300	1300	1350	1900	2170	2440
Total Cites	114	205	327	521	807	829	939	1,556	2,319
CiteScore	0.9	1.1	1.6	1.9	2	2.2	2.6	2.9	~3.2
Downloads	29,815	37,657	43,250	59,093	73,820	83,651	111,022	154,897	216,101
SCI Impact Factor	0.424	0.746	0.861	0.948	1.206	1.278	1.589	2.103	~2.4

1 Welding in the world – performance data

2 Principal reviewers for WitW in 2021

Shaju ALBERT M. AMIRTHALIINGAM Joel ANDERSSON Antoni ARTINOV Satoru ASAI Sudarsanam BABU Marcel BACHMANN Zuheir BARSOUM Joerg BAUMGARTNER Jean Pierre BERGMANN Arun Kumar BHADURI Elliot BIRO Carl CROSS Amitava DE Bruno DE MEESTER Pingsha DONG Jorge DOS SANTOS Stephan EGERLAND Norbert ENZINGER Majid FARAJIAN Carolin FINK G. GARBARINO Sven-F GOECKE Jerry GOULD David GREWELL Andrey GUMENYUK Stefan HABISCH André HALSIG Kai HILGENBERG Yoshinori HIRATA Patrick HOCHANADEL Erika HODULOVA Simon JAHN Sven JUETTNER

Thomas KANNENGIESSER Leif KARLSSON Doug KAUTZ Hee Jin KIM Menachem KIMCHI Damjan KLOBCAR Damian KOTECKI Arne KROMM Veli KUJANPAA Martin LEITNER Hong LI John LIPPOLD Stephen LIU Mauro MADIA Milan MARONEK Christian MATHISZIK Peter MAYR Teresa MELFI **Tobias MENTE** Gerson MESCHUT Fumiyoshi MINAMI Anthony MURPHY Suck-Joo NA John NORRISH Shigetaka OKANO Zengxi PAN **Boyd PANTON** Matthias PELKNER Andreas PITTNER Gerhard POSCH Tim RADEL Heikki REMES Haishui REN Michael RETHMEIER Michael RHODE Ian RICHARDSON Klemens ROTHER Ronald SCHNITZER Volker SCHOEPPNER

Klaus SCHRICKER Américo SCOTTI Junjun SHEN Masaya SHIGETA Amir SHIRZADI Aude SIMAR Christof SOMMITSCH Stefano SORRENTINO Jeffrey SOWARDS Herbert STAUFER Masaaki TABUCHI Manabu TANAKA Claus THOMY Murali TUMULURU Jari TUOMINEN Maria Asuncion VALIENTE Vincent VAN DER MEE Pedro VILACA Elin WESTIN Rebecca WHEELING Gerald WILHELM Lukas WOJARSKI ChuanSong WU Hua-Ping XIONG Lei YE Hao Yi Halid YILDIRIM Zhuyao ZHANG Guisheng ZOU

Publisher's Note Springer Nature remains neutral with regard to jurisdictional claims in published maps and institutional affiliations.