TMS MEMBER NEWS



Share the Good News!

Contact Kaitlin Calva, *JOM: The Magazine* Principal Editor, at kcalva@tms.org to share your professional accomplishments. Please note that only news submitted by current TMS members will be considered.

TMS Members Announced as 2021 AAAS Fellows



In January 2022, the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) announced its 2021 class of fellows. These are distinguished scientists, engineers, and innovators who have been recognized for their achievements across disciplines. The following TMS members were elected as 2021 AAAS Fellows in the Section on Engineering.



Arvind Agarwal, Florida International University, has been a member of TMS since 1996. He has served on a multitude of TMS committees, including the Young Leaders Committee, the Public & Governmental Affairs Committee, and the Surface Engineering Committee; as

well as on the Materials Processing & Manufacturing Division (MPMD) Council. Agarwal is also the recipient of the 2004 MPMD Young Leaders Professional Development Award.



David A. Shifler, U.S. Office of Naval Research, has been a member of TMS since 1993. He is a member of the TMS Foundation Board of Trustees. Shifler has served on several TMS committees,

including the Corrosion and Environmental Effects Committee, the Accreditation Committee, and the Professional Registration Committee.

Congratulations to these TMS members and the entirety of the 2021 class of AAAS Fellows.

South Dakota Mines Honors TMS Member as a Distinguished Alumni



At the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology (South Dakota Mines)'s 184th commencement ceremony in December 2021, TMS member, **George T. "Rusty" Gray III** was among 10 honorees recognized as a Distinguished Alumni. South Dakota Mines selects alumni who have excelled

in their careers and have exhibited excellence in giving back to their communities as leaders in the fields of science and engineering for this honor. Gray attended South Dakota Mines, receiving his bachelor's degree and master's degree, both in metallurgical engineering, graduating in 1976 and 1977 respectively. He earned his Ph.D. in metallurgical engineering from Carnegie Mellon University in 1981.

Gray has been a member of TMS since 1986 and has served on both functional and technical TMS committees. He is a member of the 2013 class of TMS Fellows and served as the 2010 TMS President. Gray is also the recipient of the 2002 Structural Materials Division (SMD) Distinguished Scientist/Engineer Award and the 2005 SMD Distinguished Service Award. Congratulations to all the honorees.

