

new and noteworthy at TMS

ELA Equips Next Generation of TMS Leadership



Attending the 2013 ELA Capstone Program from TMS were: (Front row, I-r): Deborah Price, TMS; Eliana Fu, Timet; Steve Corvell, Precision Castparts Corp. (Second row, I-r): Hans Shin, Pacific Testing Labs; Remi Dingreville, Sandia National Laboratories; Kumar Kandasamy, Aeroprobe Corporation; Benjamin Stanton, Harbison-Walker Refractories: Benjamin Iverson, Halliburton; Brad Boyce, Sandia National Laboratories.

Preparing future science and engineering leaders for the challenges they will face in advancing their organizations within complex business and social environments is the goal of the Emerging Leaders Alliance (ELA), a multi-professional society initiative. As an ELA partner, TMS was proud to send eight of its members, through the support of the TMS Foundation, to the 2013 ELA Capstone Program, held November 11–13 in Reston, Virginia.

"The ELA program broadened my thinking about what it takes to be a good

leader," said Brad Boyce, Principal Member of the Technical Staff, Sandia National Laboratories, and one of the TMS members who participated in the 2013 ELA program. "The workshops emphasized that a good leader in science and engineering not only requires technical competence and vision, but also 'emotional intelligence' and an awareness of 'social styles'. I hope to strengthen my professional relationships through this understanding of my own personality tendencies and those of others."

Admission to the ELA is competitive. Applicants must be members of TMS, typically ages 24–40, and be individuals with rising or current technical staff leader positions, potential for upper level management or professors with aspirations for university leadership roles. For additional information on how to apply for the 2014 program, contact Deborah Price, TMS Awards and Recognition Specialist, at *price@tms.org*.

ELA has also launched a Leadership Training on Demand program that provides year-round access to past Capstone Program content and training online. For details and pricing, visit the ELA website at *emergingleadersalliance.org*.

TMS Welcomes New Members

Please join us in congratulating the following new TMS members, approved by the TMS Board of Directors at its December 2013 meeting.

AUSTRALIA

Cantin, Gersende, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization

Lind, Gavin, Minerals Council of Australia Ryott, Edward,

Rio Tinto Aluminium

BELGIUM

Goris, Yves

RRA7II

De Souza, Rodrigo Ferreira Santos, Sydney, Universidade Federal do ABC

CANADA

Benayas, Antonio, INRS Université-Énergie, Matériaux et Télécommunications Boyle, Kevin

Cicoira, Fabio, École Polytechnique de Montréal

Dogan, Neslihan, McMaster University Griffiths, Malcolm, Atomic Energy of Canada Limited

Hatch, Gareth, Innovation Metals Corp.

Hatton, Ben, University of Toronto Inal, Kaan A., University of Waterloo Jacob, Olivier, Université Laval Medvedovski, Eugene, Endurance Technologies Inc.

Obi, Daniel A., University of Quebec Peleshok, Janis, Pele Mountain Resources

Plante, Louis, ArcelorMittal Sand. Kyle

Santato, Clara, École Polytechnique de Montréal

Savaria, Vincent, Héroux Devtek Shefsky, Al, Pele Mountain Resources Snowsill, Peter, Hatch Tavakoli, Arash, Chemetics Inc.
Torrealba, Jorge
Tranchot, Alix, INRS Université
Trudeau, Michel L., Hydro-Quebec
Research Institute
Vetrone, Fiorenzo, INRS Université

CHINA

Chen, Ji, Changchun Institute of Applied Chemistry

Deng, Yuefeng, Changchun Institute of Applied Chemistry

Gu, Hui, Shanghai Institute of Ceramics Ji, Hongjun, Harbin Institute of Technology

Li, Deqian, Changchun Institute of Applied Chemistry

Li, Shufeng, Xi'an University of Technology

Qiang, Li, Northeastern University Yongdan, Li, Tianjin University

CZECH REPUBLIC

Dobron, Patrik, Charles University in Prague

DENMARK

Oddershede, Jette, DTU Physics

FINLAND

Singh, Rivek Kumar, Aalto University

FRANCE

Antoni-Zdziobel, Annie, Science et Ingénierie des Matériaux et Procédés /Grenoble INP

Milhet, Xavier, Institut Pprime-CNRS ENSMA

Texier, Damien, ENSMA-UCSB Villechaise, Patrick, Institut Pprime-ENSMA

GERMANY

Aguilar, Julio, Access e.V.
Duessel, Roman, Trimet Aluminium SE
Hirsekorn, Sigrun, Fraunhofer IZFP
Jakumeit, Juergen, Access e.V.
Juechter, Vera, University Erlangen
Kaettlitz, Oliver, Access e.V.
Kline, Andteas, Trimet Aluminium SE
Koester, Aenne, Vallourec
Pfeifer, Herbert, Aachen University
Zoellner, Dana, Otto Von Guericke
University

GREAT BRITAIN

Derguti, Fatos, University of Sheffield Girling, Andrew, Swansea University Millett, Jeremy, AWE Rosier, Hollie, Swansea University Yuan, Chen, University of Birmingham

HONG KONG

Lu, Jian, City University of Hong Kong

INDIA

Hassanjayaraj, Amarendra, Malnad College of Engineering

M S, Srinath, Malnad College of Engineering Mudali, U. Kamachi, Indira Gandhi Center for Atomic Research

Nanda, Subhendra, Hindustan Copper Limited

Ravinder, D., Osmania University

JAPAN

Cho, Ken, Tohoku University
Eguchi, Junji, J-LACS
Hasegawa, Yutaka, Onahama Smelting &
Refining Company LTD
lida, Tsutomu, Tokyo University of Science
Orlov, Dmytro, Ritsumeikan University
Wakayama, Yutaka, National Institute for
Materials Science

MOROCCO

Essadiqi, Elhachmi, Université Internationale de Rabat

NETHERLANDS

Soares E Silva, Marina, Elsevier

NEW ZEALAND

Gabbitas, Brian, University of Waikato

POLAND

Fima, Przemyslaw, Institute of Metallurgy & Materials Science PAS

RUSSIA

Lipkina, Ksenia Savchenko, Alexey, A.A. Bochvar Institute

SAUDI ARABIA

Al Eisa, Abdullah M., Saudi Geological Survey

SPAIN

Alkorta, Jon, Ceit-Technun

SOUTH AFRICA

Machaka, Ronald, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research Van Schalkwyk, Werner, BHP Billiton – Hillside Aluminium Yahorava, Volha, Mintek

SOUTH KOREA

Cho, Hyung Koun, Sungkyunkwan University Kim, Jeung Gon, Incheon National University

Lee, Hoo-Dam
Lee, Joonho, Korea University
Lee, Kyung-Moon
Oh, Tae-Sung, Hongik University
Yoo. Ilhwan. Skc

SWEDEN

Brännström, Per, Outotec

TAIWAN

Chou, Minghan, National Tsing Hua University

UNITED STATES

Adireddy, Shivaprasad Reddy, University of New Orleans

Calvert, Kayl L. Carroll, Jason

Carter, Robert

Chaudhary, Sumit, Iowa State University Christen, Hans M.

Daw, Murray S., Clemson University Egervary, Tibor, Resodyn Acoustic Mixers

El-Zahab, Bilal, Florida International University

Fenning, David P., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Harkey, Charles

Haslam, Jeffery J., Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Haun, James Michael, Pryor Giggey Co. Hintze, Mark J., Rockwood Lithium Hoffmann, Richard A., Hoffmann & Feige Inc.

Hudack, Michael, Dynamic Systems Inc. Janson, Christopher, NYS Center of Excellence in Materials Informatics

Kardys, Gary J., IHS

Keblinski, Pawel J., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Lee, Min-Ha, KITECH

Leever, Benjamin, Air Force Research Laboratory

Lekakh, Simon N., Missouri University of Science and Technology

McKeown, Joseph, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Ness, James, AOC

Phelan, Patrick, A.D. Mackay, Inc.

Qiao, Yu

Quigley, Daniel, Dynamic Systems Inc. Runkel, Marcus, Outotec

Saied, Mey

Schumacher, Katie J., Stillwater Mining Company

Shemkunas, Michael

Vandyoussefi, Mehrdad, BELAC LLC

Weigl, James

Youngclaus, Jared