YOUR MEMBER CONNECTION

Meet the TMS members who have contributed to or are featured in this issue of JOM.

To join the TMS network, visit www.tms.org/Society/Membership.aspx.



JOM AUTHORS AND ADVISORS

Atre, Sundar earned his Ph.D. in 1995 in Materials Science and Engineering at The Pennsylvania State University and is a new TMS member.

Balle, Frank is a postdoctoral research fellow at the Institute of Materials Science and Engineering (WKK) at the University of Kaiserlautern, Germany. His main research topics are innovative solid state joining techniques for light metals, composites, glass, and ceramics. Furthermore, he focuses on ultrasonic techniques for characterization of the monotonic and cyclic deformation behavior of high-performance materials like Ti-alloys and fiber-reinforced composites. Balle holds a diploma in mechanical engineering (M.Sc.) and a Ph.D. from the University of Kaiserlautern in materials science. He gives lectures and tutorials in materials science and science selection, and is an associate editor of the International Journal on Ultrasonics. He is a two-year member of TMS.

Eifler, Dietmar earned his Ph.D. in Habilitation from the University of Kaiserlautern, Germany. He is a three-year member of TMS.

Enneti, Ravi K. is principal scientist with Global Tungsten and Powders Corporation, Towanda, Pennsylvania. He earned his Ph.D. in 2005 in Powder Metallurgy at The Pennsylvania State University. Enneti is a one-year member of TMS and a member of the Powder Materials and Refractory Metals committees.

Guthrie, Roderick is Macdonald Professor of Metallurgy at McGill University. He earned his Ph.D. in 1967 in Process Metallurgy from Imperial College. Guthrie has been a member of TMS for more than 40 years.

Haddadi, Farid is a student at the University of Manchester, U.K. He is a one-year member of TMS.

Heinz, Stefan is a research associate in the Department of Materials Science at the University of Kaiserlautern whose research is in joining and ultrasound technology. Heinz is a one-year member of TMS.

Lemieux, Patrick is a graduate student at McGill University where he earned his Ph.D. in 2011 in materials engineering. Lemieux is a one-year member of TMS.

Marquis, Fernand is a research professor at the Wayne E. Meyer Institute of Systems Engineering at the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey, California. He earned his Ph.D. in 1977 in Materials Science/Metallurgical Engineering at the Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine in London. He is a 30-year member of TMS and has been active in many committees (Powder Materials, Composite Materials, Mechanical Behavior, Professional Registration, Accreditation, and others) and technical divisions, organized many symposia, and received many TMS awards. He has several patents and patent applications, published over 90 refereed publications, edited eight books, and wrote several book chapters, over 35 special reports and five monographs. He is an ABET Program Evaluator for Materials, Metallurgical and Polymer Engineering. He is a member of many global professional organizations and advisory boards, served and continues to serve extensively in several professional societies, including the organization of many international conferences and workshops in many different global locations.

Nayak, Subhadarshi, is the chief technical officer and founder of ScienceTomorrow LLC in Woodbridge, Virginia. He earned his Ph.D. in 2004 in Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Tennessee. He is the chair of the TMS Professional

Registration Committee, has been an active member of various other TMS committees, organized a symposium on structural health monitoring, received emerging leader training, and is the past chair of the Young Leader Committee. Nayak, a registered Professional Engineer, has been a TMS member for 11 years.

Onbattuvelli, Valmikanathan earned his Ph.D. in 2010 in industrial engineering at Oregon State University. He is a two-year member of TMS.

Panteli, Alexandra is a student at the University of Manchester, U.K. and a one-year member of TMS.

Prangnell, Philip is with the Materials Science Center at the University of Manchester, U.K. He earned his Ph.D. in 1991 from the University of Cambridge in Metallurgy & Materials Science. Prangnell is a three-year member of TMS.

Ravindra, Nuggehalli M. is Chair of the Department of Physics at New Jersey Institute of Technology. He earned his Ph.D. in 1982 from the University of Roorkee. Ravindra is a 15-year member of TMS.

Wagner, Guntram is a senior scientist at the University of Kaiserlautern, Germany, where he also earned his Ph.D. in 1994 in Materials Engineering. Wagner is a three-year member of TMS.

OTHER MEMBERS FEATURED IN THIS ISSUE

Dimiduk, Dennis Inui, Haruyuki Lewis, Alexis Saada, Georges Wadsworth, Jeffrey Zinkle, Steven