Announcement of New Editor



JIAN-FENG NIE

We are pleased to announce that Professor Jian-Feng Nie will be joining our editorial staff of *Metallurgical and Materials Transactions A* starting in January of 2013. He replaces Dr. Srikumar Banerjee who served as Editor for us for the last seven years.

Professor Nie received his B.Eng. degree from Beijing Institute of Technology in 1986. In the same year, he was awarded a scholarship for postgraduate study in Australia. In 1993 he received his Ph.D. degree from Monash University after several years of training and study on rapidly solidified aluminium alloys for elevated temperature applications. He became interested in magnesium alloys during his postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Queensland, and joined CSIRO Division of Materials Science and Technology (now CSIRO Process Science and Engineering) in early 1994 to work on a CSIRO national priority project on automotive magnesium alloys. He returned to Monash University in 1995 to work on precipitation hardened aluminium alloys. Two years later, he was awarded a Logan Fellowship to resume his exploration in magnesium research and light alloys. In this position, he initiated and established an integrated research program on magnesium alloys at Monash University. He was promoted to Professor in 2008 and was appointed the Associate Dean International in 2012.

His current research interests cover physical metallurgy of light alloys, crystallography of solid-solid phase transformations, applications of transmission electron microscopy, and processing-microstructure-property relationships. He has published over 100 papers in international journals. He was guest editor and co-editor of two viewpoint sets published in Scripta Materialia, the editors of the proceedings of several major international conferences, and the organiser of the first symposium on Phase Transformations and Deformation in Magnesium Alloys—with the symposium papers published in *Metallurgical and Materials Transactions A* in 2005. He was awarded Marcus A Grossmann Young Authors Award in 2006, the Inaugural Vice-Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Innovation and Collaboration in Research with Industry, Monash University, in 2008. He was former chair of the Phase Transformations Committee of TMS, and chair of the National Events Committee of Materials Australia. He has been a key reader of *Metallurgical and Materials Transactions A* since 1998.