# **Editor's Notes**

By Abbie Brown

elcome to the TechTrends "convention issue," which includes reports from a number of AECT divisions and committees (for more information on division and committee activities, see the AECT website: www. aect.org). The convention this past November in Jacksonville, Florida was by all accounts a wonderful experience for everyone who attended. Personally I could not have had a better conference experience; I learned a great deal, had a chance to socialize with colleagues, and make a number of new professional connections. AECT president Ana Donaldson provides a more complete report in this issue's President's Column.

Our upcoming convention in Louisville, Kentucky (October 21- November 3, 2012) promises to be a similar, wonderful experience. Marcus Childress and Zeni Colorado provide details about the upcoming meeting in this issue's Convention Update column.

Also in this issue, Kangdon Lee describes applications of augmented reality (AR) in education and training settings; Zekeriya Goktas reports on a research study of attitudes of physical education and sport students towards information and communication technologies; and Vicki Donne presents research conducted on using wikis to support online collaboration among university students.

## TechTrends A Peer-Reviewed Publication

The official publication of the Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT) for leaders in education and training, ISSN 8756-3894

1800 North Stonelake Drive Suite 2 Bloomington, Indiana 47404-1517 Phone 812-335-7675 • Fax 812-335-7678 Toll-free 877-677-AECT email aect@aect.org

AECT Board of Directors		
President	Ana Donaldson	
President-elect	Marcus Childress	
Executive Secretary	Ellen Hoffman	
Past President	Barbara Lockee	

#### Board Members

Tony Betrus, MJ Bishop, Leslie Blatt, David Dannenberg, Bob Doyle, Frank Duffy, Nancy Hastings, Tom Hergert, Trey Martindale, Wes Miller, Al Mizell, David Richard Moore, Susan Stansberry, Monica Tracey

TechTrends Publisher	Phillip Harris
Editor-in-Chief	Abbie Brown
Design Director	Ned Shaw
Departments Editor	Mark Lauer

### Editorial Board

Elizabeth Boling, Carol Brown, Jean Callary, Don Descy, Steve Hackbarth, Mary Herring, Terry Holcomb, Michael Simonson, Sharon Smaldino, Robert Wiseman, Lisa Yamagata-Lynch, Jane Zahner

Column Editors		
All Aboard the Internet	Don Descy	
Copyright and You	Preston Parker	
ect Cornerstone	Don Descy	
ICT International	Ross A. Perkins	
Professional Ethics	Andrew Yeaman	
The History Corner	Rebecca P. Butler	
The Mentoring of Media	Linda Bartrom-Olsen	
Techspotting	Tim Green	

#### **Consulting Reviewers**

Terry Atkinson, Eun-Ok Beck, Brian Beatty, Doris U. Bolliger, Betty Collis, Michael Corry, Theresa Ann Cullen, J. Ana Donaldson, Peg Ertmer, Dolores Fidishun, David A. Goodrum, Charles R. Graham, Timothy D. Green, Noriko Hara, Brian Horvitz, Byung-Ro Lim, Donal Little, Kenneth Luterbach, James Marken, Hayley Mayal, Al Mizell, Trena M. Paulus, John R. Savery, Patricia J. Slagter van Tryon, Rosemary Talab, Walt Wager, Sheldon Woods

Editorial material published herein is the property of AECT unless otherwise noted. Opinions expressed in *TechTrends* do not necessarily reflect the official position of AECT. All artwork © Ned Shaw except where noted.