Editor's Notes

By Abbie Brown East Carolina University

elcome to the September/October, 2011 issue! Along with a great collection of peer-reviewed articles and our (equally great) regular columns and departments, we have a couple of special editorials in this issue, both of which mark renewed efforts and greater cooperation among educational technology leaders within AECT and between AECT and other, education-focused, organizations.

In the first special editorial, Spector, Knezek, Searson, Lockee, Bull, and Brown document the activity of the National Technology Leadership Coalition (NTLC), designed, "to facilitate and encourage cross-disciplinary discussion of appropriate uses of technology in the core content areas across professional associations." I have had the distinct pleasure of participating in NTLC activities since becoming the editor of *TechTrends*; it is easily one of my favorite professional obligations.

In the second special editorial, Ellsworth, Harris, and Moore introduce and describe "The Purpose Project." AECT president Barbara Lockee

writes, "The Purpose of Public Education Project is an official activity of AECT. As a professional association we feel we have a responsibility to support our nation's effort to improve the quality of public education for everyone. This project is designed to get the population to engage in a long overdue dialogue regarding the purpose of public education."

Also in this issue, John Nworie provides a useful and easy-to-understand description of the Delphi Technique; Craig Shepard and Stan Skrabut rethink the use of electronic portfolios for teachers; Charles Hodges and Gail Hunger describe strategies for communicating mathematics online; Randall Davies provides a framework for evaluating educational technology integration; and Jason McDonald examines the creative spirit of design.

As always, there is a great deal of good information in this issue. It is comforting to know that AECT members have free online access to the entire journal's contents dating back all the way to 1985!

TechTrends

A Peer-Reviewed Publication

The official publication of the Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT) for leaders in education and training, ISSN 8756-3894

1800 North Stonelake Drive Suite 2 Bloomington, Indiana 47404-1517 Phone 812-335-7675 • Fax 812-335-7678 Toll-free 877-677-AECT email aect@aect.org

AECT Board of Directors

President Barbara Lockee
President-elect Ana Donaldson
Executive Secretary MaryBeth Jordan Past
President Michael Spector

Board Members

Robert Appleman, MJ Bishop, Leslie Blatt, Elizabeth Boling, Carol Brown, Mark Childress, Bob Doyle, Frank Duffey, Nancy Hastings, Mary Beth Jordan, Barbara Lockee, Nandita Mani, Trey Martindale, Wes Miller, Anthony Pina, Susan Stansberry, William Sugar, Monica Tracey

TechTrends Publisher Phillip Harris
Editor-in-Chief Abbie Brown
Design Director Ned Shaw
Departments Editor Mark Lauer

Editorial Board

Elizabeth Boling, Carol Brown, Jean Callary, Don Descy, Steve Hackbarth, Mary Herring, Terry Holcomb, Michael Simonson, Sharon Smaldino, Robert Wiseman, Lisa Yamagata-Lynch, Jane Zahner

Column Editors

All Aboard the Internet Don Descy Connelly's Cutaway John and Marilyn Connelly Copyright and You Preston Parker ect Cornerstone Don Descy and Robert Harrell ICT International Ross A. Perkins Professional Ethics Andrew Yeaman The History Corner Rebecca P. Butler The Mentoring of Media Linda Bartrom-Olsen Techspotting Tim Green

Consulting Reviewers

Terry Atkinson, Eun-Ok Beck, Brian Beatty, Doris U. Bolliger, Betty Collis, Michael Corry, Theresa Ann Cullen, J. Ana Donaldson, Peg Ertmer, Dolores Fidishun, David A. Goodrum, Charles R. Graham, Timothy D. Green, Noriko Hara, Brian Horvitz, Byung-Ro Lim, Donal Little, Kenneth Luterbach, James Marken, Hayley Mayal, Al Mizell, Trena M. Paulus, John R. Savery, Patricia J. Slagter van Tryon, Rosemary Talab, Walt Wager, Sheldon Woods

Editorial material published herein is the property of AECT unless otherwise noted. Opinions expressed in *TechTrends* do not necessarily reflect the official position of AECT. All artwork © Ned Shaw except where noted.