# **Editor's Notes**

By Abbie Brown

n this issue, topics range from making good use of past innovations (see Ross Perkins' description of how educational radio is alive and well in many parts of the world) to speculation about a radically different future (see Preston Parker's editorial on the future of copyright). Speaking of the past and future, see Ana Donaldson's, Mary Herring's and Sharon Smaldino's description of what we can look forward to at the upcoming AECT conference in Jacksonville, Florida, as well as Joel Gardner's reflections on being an intern at the AECT Conference this past fall in Anaheim.

Also in this issue, Berhaine Teclehaimanot and Torey Hickman present research on student-teacher interaction on Facebook; Elfreda Blue and Rose Tirotta discuss the benefits and challenges involved in using cloud computing and interactive whiteboards with pre-service teachers; and Jeremy Zelkowski describes the uses of the TI-Nspire CAS Touchpad in the secondary mathematics classroom.

## **Erratum**

In issue 55.1 (January/February 2011) a portion of the ect Cornerstone column was mistakenly omitted. The portion should be read as coming between pages 15 and 16 of the original column and is as follows:

We started working on our service project as early as January 2010 through numerous electronic communication and audio conferences. Given that all 2009 intern group was made up of female doctoral students, together we felt strongly that we and other female fellows have need of mentoring and guidance from successful female leaders currently in the field. Perhaps, I should also mention that, I had a chance to meet with other interns during 2010 AERA conference, where we scheduled an intern meeting to further discuss our project ideas. As a result of our group work, we proposed an interactive panel session for 2010 AECT convention to provide an environment for up-andcoming female scholars and professionals to learn about leadership and career opportunities in educational technology. We chose 6 prominent female leaders in the field as panelists that represented diverse experiences, backgrounds, and interests. Our proposed session, Empowering Women Leadership in the field of Educational Technology, received a great enthusiasm and interest by the AECT conference organization committee and the panelists, and was offered as a special session at the conference.

The collaborative work during the planning, organization and promotion of our service project was a clear indication of each intern's motivation and devotion to the internship experience.

# TechTrends

### A Peer-Reviewed Publication

The official publication of the Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT) for leaders in education and training, ISSN 8756-3894

1800 North Stonelake Drive Suite 2 Bloomington, Indiana 47404-1517 Phone 812-335-7675 • Fax 812-335-7678 Toll-free 877-677-AECT email aect@aect.org

#### AECT Board of Directors

President Barbara Lockee
President-elect Ana Donaldson
Executive Secretary MaryBeth Jordan Past
President Michael Spector

#### **Board Members**

Robert Appleman, MJ Bishop, Leslie Blatt, Elizabeth Boling, Carol Brown, Mark Childress, Bob Doyle, Frank Duffey, Nancy Hastings, Mary Beth Jordan, Barbara Lockee, Nandita Mani, Trey Martindale, Wes Miller, Anthony Pina, Susan Stansberry, William Sugar, Monica Tracey

TechTrends Publisher Phillip Harris
Editor-in-Chief Abbie Brown
Design Director Ned Shaw
Departments Editor Mark Lauer

#### Editorial Board

Elizabeth Boling, Carol Brown, Jean Callary, Don Descy, Steve Hackbarth, Mary Herring, Terry Holcomb, Michael Simonson, Sharon Smaldino, Robert Wiseman, Lisa Yamagata-Lynch, Jane Zahner

#### Column Editors

All Aboard the Internet Don Descy John and Marilyn Connelly Connelly's Cutaway Copyright and You Preston Parker ect Cornerstone Don Descy and Robert Harrell ICT International Ross A. Perkins Professional Ethics Andrew Yeaman The History Corner Rebecca P. Butler The Mentoring of Media Linda Bartrom-Olsen Techspotting Tim Green

#### Consulting Reviewers

Terry Atkinson, Eun-Ok Beck, Brian Beatty, Doris U. Bolliger, Betty Collis, Michael Corry, Theresa Ann Cullen, J. Ana Donaldson, Peg Ertmer, Dolores Fidishun, David A. Goodrum, Charles R. Graham, Timothy D. Green, Noriko Hara, Brian Horvitz, Byung-Ro Lim, Donal Little, Kenneth Luterbach, James Marken, Hayley Mayal, Al Mizell, Trena M. Paulus, John R. Savery, Patricia J. Slagter van Tryon, Rosemary Talab, Walt Wager, Sheldon Woods

Editorial material published herein is the property of AECT unless otherwise noted. Opinions expressed in *TechTrends* do not necessarily reflect the official position of AECT. All artwork © Ned Shaw except where noted.