## CrossMark

## PREFACE

## **Topological Matter and Flat Bands (TMFB)**

Pablo D. Esquinazi<sup>1</sup>

Published online: 29 January 2018

© Springer Science+Business Media, LLC, part of Springer Nature 2018

The papers appearing in this special issue of the *Journal of Low Temperature Physics* are some of the contributions to the Topological Matter and Flat Bands (TMFB) Conference held in August 17–20, 2017, at the Felix-Bloch-Institute of the Faculty of Physics and Earth Sciences—University of Leipzig, Leipzig, Germany (https://home.uni-leipzig.de/flatband/). This Conference was a satellite conference of the 28th International Conference on Low Temperature Physics (LT28, http://www.lt28.se) that took place in Gothenburg (Sweden) between August 9–16, 2017.

The TMFB Conference continued the discussion on the importance of flat bands in solid-state physics, which started in Dresden in 2013 (Flat Bands: Design, Topology, and Correlations). It brought together experimentalists and theoreticians to discuss new examples in graphite/graphene and other systems, where the topology and flat bands may play a major role in triggering exceptional phenomena due to extremely singular density of states. The target audience consisted of researchers of graphene/graphite, those studying topological materials, topological superconductivity, interface superconductivity, and also the community of ultracold atom systems. The main topics presented and discussed during the conference included: Lifhshitz transitions, superconductivity/superfluidity in systems with exact or approximate flat bands, two-dimensional superconductivity, nodal topological superconductivity, magnetism and magnetotransport, surface states, topological metals, Weyl fermions and points, transport phenomena, Fano resonances, quantum-Hall systems including superconductors, flat-band phononic lattices, flat bands in strongly interacting systems, as examples. There were 32 oral presentations and 11 posters.

Pablo D. Esquinazi esquin@physik.uni-leipzig.de

Fakultaet fuer Physik und Geowissenschaften, University of Leipzig, Leipzig, Germany

The organizing committee was integrated by the following scientists: T. Heikkilä (University of Jyväskylä, Finland), A. P. Schnyder (MPI f. Festkörperforschung Stuttgart, Germany), A. Soluyanov (ETH Zurich/Switzerland), P. Törmä (Aalto University, Finland), and G. Volovik (Aalto University, Finland/Landau Institute, Russia).

Following is the list of participants and invited speakers (indicated in bold):

Barzola-Quiquia Bianconi Dolgopolov Drescher Esquinazi Fulga Gühne Heikkilä Hyart Ikegaya Jaworowski Kanazawa Khodel Kunst Kurilovich  Lötmann Menezes Nissinen Nobukane Ojajärvi Park Peotta Pickett	José Antonio Valery T. Moritz Pablo Ion Cosma Robin Tero Timo Satoshi Błażej Ikuzo Victor Flore Pavel Vladislav Tomas Natalia Jaakko Hiroyoshi Risto Hee Chul Sebastiano Warren	Universität Leipzig, Germany RICMASS, Italy Institute of Solid State Physics, Chernogolovka, Russia Universität Heidelberg, Germany Universität Leipzig, Germany IFW Dresden, Germany Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand University of Jyväskylä, Finland University of Jyväskylä, Finland Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan Wrocław University of Science and Technology, Poland Tokyo Gakugei University, Japan NRC Kurchatov Institute Moscow, Russia Stockholm University, Sweden Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology (State University), Dolgoprudny, Russia Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology (State University), Dolgoprudny, Russia Uppsala University, Sweden Utrecht University, Netherlands Aalto University, Espoo, Finland Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan University of Jyväskylä, Finland Institute for Basic Science, Daejeon, South Korea Aalto University, Finland University, Finland
Precker Ramachandran	Christian Ajith	Universität Leipzig, Germany Center for Theoretical Physics of Complex Systems, Dae-
Kamachandran	Ajitii	jeon, Republic of Korea
Regnault	Nicolas	CNRS, Paris, France
Rizzi	Mateo	Johannes Gutenberg University (JGU) Mainz, Germany
Rosenow	Bernd	Universität Leipzig, Germany
Sato	Masatoshi	Kyoto University, Japan
Shaginyan	Vasily	P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute, Moscow, Russia
Soluyanov Tamura	Alexey Shun	ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Tamura Tanaka	Yukio	Nagoya University, Japan Nagoya University, Japan
Tänaka Törmä	Päivi	Aalto University, Espoo, Finland
Vicencio	Rodrigo	Universidad de Chile, Santiago, Chile
Volovik	Grigory	Aalto University, Espoo, Finland
Winkler	Grigory Georg W.	ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Wulayimu	Maimaiti	Center for Theoretical Physics of Complex Systems, Dae-
	1,1dilliditi	jeon, Republic of Korea

I thank all the members of the organizing committee for the enthusiasm and support in the organization of the conference, the technical support of Ms. Sandy Ehlers and



Mr. Lukas Botsch, and the partial support of the German Research Society through DFG-Project ES 86/30-1, as well as of the Graduate School "Leipzig School of Natural Sciences—Building with Molecules and Nano-objects" (BuildMona).

