

Editorial

Gert-Jan de Vreede¹ · Mareike Schoop²

Published online: 13 February 2023 © The Author(s), under exclusive licence to Springer Nature B.V. 2023

Welcome to the 2023 volume of the Group Decision & Negotiation journal. Like in 2020 and 2021, the world was still affected by COVID 19 in 2022. Slowly, we went back into our workplaces, interacted with colleagues face-to-face again, welcomed students on campus, yet all the time being aware that the pandemic was far from over. Our flexibility and resilience was once more tested. The GDN 2022 conference in Toronto was again a digital conference which did not lessen the creativity and zest for new GDN research as shown by all participants. We continue to look forward to publishing some of the best conference papers in the journal.

2022 was another successful year for the GDN journal. We received a total of 247 submissions which is an increase of 20% compared to the previous year. The six issues of the journal published a total of 45 papers including a Special Issue on Negotiation Systems and Studies in honor of our late colleague Gregory Kersten. The average number of days from submission to first decision dropped from 92 days in 2019 to 33 days in 2021 and 2022. This is an amazing turnaround time which everyone on the editorial board should feel proud about! The journal's h-index improved further to 63 while the journal's impact factor increased from 1.612 in 2019 to 2.928 in 2021. The CiteScore increased to 5.0 in 2022. Finally, we registered a record number of full-text article downloads in 2022: 128,570, a 3% increase compared to 2021.

Together, these numbers show that the journal continues to be the prime outlet for research on group decision and negotiation. Our aim continues to be soliciting strong submissions that receive a swift decision to keep improving the journal's metrics in 2023. We welcome proposals for special issues and submissions on innovative topics. Review papers are also encouraged that can serve as a focal point for specific GDN research areas.

² Intelligent Information Systems Group, University of Hohenheim, Stuttgart, Germany



Gert-Jan de Vreede gdevreede@usf.edu

Muma College of Business, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL, USA

1 The Editorial Board & Reviewers

The Group Decision & Negotiation journal is fortunate to have a committed editorial board and group of reviewers. They work tirelessly to assess the contributions and quality of each submission that is entered into the review process. They assist the authors through constructive criticism to ensure that each published paper makes a significant contribution to the Group Decision & Negotiation body of knowledge.

We are extremely grateful to our current editorial board members, several of whom have carried a heavy load. We truly appreciate their hard work and dedication during the past year. For 2023, there are a few changes to the composition of the board. First, we were deeply saddened to learn of the recent passing of Love Ekenberg from Stockholm University in Sweden. He was a valued and active member of our board for many years and we will greatly miss his insights, collegiality, and friendship. Second, several board members indicated their desire to retire. We thank the following colleagues for their many years of service to our community:

- Martin Bichler, Technical University of Munich, Germany
- João Clímaco, University of Coimbra, Portugal
- Sascha Kurz, University of Bayreuth, Germany
- Jeryl Mumpower, Texas A&M University, USA
- Bertrand Munier, Ecole Normale Supérieure, France

We are also grateful to welcome several new board members who will strengthen the board's coverage of the various GDN research areas and also strengthen the board's diversity in terms of global regions, gender, career stage, and ethnicity. Our newest board members are:

- Hillie Aaldering, Free University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
- Muhammed-Fatih Kaya, University of Hohenheim, Germany
- Hengjie Zhang, Hohai University, China

We would be amiss not to recognize the fantastic support from the editorial team at Springer: Matthew Amboy, Ashlea Highfill, Chitra Vijayaraghavan, Ambiga Selvaraj, Balamurugan Rajendran, Jolanda Voogd, and Cameron de Kreij. We are grateful for their professionalism and responsiveness. It is a pleasure to work with each and every one of them.

Finally, on behalf of the Editorial Board we would like to acknowledge all reviewers for their efforts and for their swift and dedicated work that made the 2022 volume possible:



Fditorial 3

Mehdi Abbasi Dorota Gorecka Atif Açıkgöz Xunjie Gou Coulibaly Adama Michel Grabisch Wen Gu Juan Aguarón

Muhammad Akram Ani Guerdjikova Aureli Alabert Rafik Hadfi Naif Alawi Yu Han

M. Josune Albizuri Jawad Hagbeen **Einay Hart** Luís Alçada Almeida

Martina Hartner-Tiefenthaler Andreas Alexiou

Guilherme Amorim Shawei He Ryuta Arisaka Xianpei Hong Alice H. Aubert Yuming Huang Takehiro Inohara Reyhan Aydogan Andrés Jiménez-Losada William Baber

Jordan Barlow Richard John Guy Barokas Nipat Jongsawat **Bruce Barry** Bogumil Kaminski Nor Hanimah Kamis Ruth Ben-Yashar

Sumana Biswas Eric Kamwa Bosko Blagojevic Parmjit Kaur

Bob Cavana Muhammed Fatih Kaya

Pinar Celik Ginger Ke Zhen-Song Chen Peter Kesting Xia Chen Tomáš Kliegr Ana Costa Bomin Ko László Csató David Kocsis

Aleksei Y. Kondratev Metin Dagdeviren

Suzana Daher Venkataraghavan Krishnaswamy

Lech Krus Mats Danielson Claudio De Mattos Hanbin Kuang Triparna de Vreede Franki Kung **Enes Demiralay** Álvaro Labella Xiaopeng Deng Jerome Lang Lihi Derv Christoph Laubert William Donohue Jonathan Lee Viktor Dörfler Jonathan Leland Ulle Endriss Alexandre Leoneti Markus Ewert Roy Lewicki

Carlos Ferreira Huimin Li Mohammad Reza Feylizadeh Xuemei Li Jerry Fjermestad Yongjun Li Eduarda Frei Hui Li Shixuan Fu Mingwei Lin Fabio Galeotti Fang Liu Zaiwu Gong Yating Liu



Yujia Liu Filipe Souza
Wenqi Liu Wolfgang Steinel
David Lowing Takahiro Suzuki
Tariq Malik Marek Szopa
Ricardo Marcão Andranik Tangian
Luis Martinez Tünde Tátrai

Bilyana Martinovski Reza Tavakkoli-Moghaddam

Katarzyna Mazur-Włodarczyk Kevin Techer Paulo Melo Michiel Tempelaar Maísa Mendonça Silva Zoi Terzopoulou Marc Mertes Marcella Urtiga Jerzy Michnik Per van der Wijst Milad Mirbabaie Shuping Wan Arunodaya Mishra Junjie Wang Xavier Molinero Marco Warsitzka Maria Montero Guiwu Wei

Jose Maria Moreno Jimenez

Sarah Oeste-Reiß

Robert Wilken

Jan Oresky

Zhenggao Wu

Dragan Pamucar

Claudio Panico

Javier Pereira

Alex Possajennikov

Jiuping Xu

Yejun Xu

Morteza Yazdani Jimena Ramirez-Marin Saied Yousefi Leandro Rêgo Peijia Ren Jing Yu Arash Saghafi Xiaodan Yu Alfred Zerres Sofia Sahab Wojciech Salabun Quanbo Zha Weiwei Zhang Jorge Santos Paula Sarabando Ya Zhang Mohsen Shahbaznezhadfard Zhen Zhang Wen-Ran Zhang Erfang Shan Shinan Zhao Sudeep Sharma Ruchi Sinha Wei Zhou

We wish everyone a healthy and successful 2023!

Publisher's Note Springer Nature remains neutral with regard to jurisdictional claims in published maps and institutional affiliations.

