EDITORIAL



Editorial: Outstanding Reviewer Award 2024

A. Mathios¹ · H.-W. Micklitz² · L. Reisch³ · J. Thøgersen⁴ · C. Twigg-Flesner⁵

© The Author(s), under exclusive licence to Springer Science+Business Media, LLC, part of Springer Nature 2024

It is never too repetitive to remind our readers that the success of the *Journal of Consumer Policy* depends crucially on the advice provided by those who volunteer to review manuscripts. In 2009, the editors established the Outstanding Reviewer Award. This Award recognizes a member of the editorial board who consistently provides high-quality reviews of manuscripts and through these reviews has contributed to increasing the clarity, precision, and contribution of the papers published in the *Journal of Consumer Policy*. The recipient of this Award receives a small financial reward but the primary purpose of the Award is to recognize an often-overlooked contribution scholars make to their disciplines—the time invested in the peer-review process.

The selection decision as to who should receive the Award is made at the Annual Editors Meeting and is based on reviews covering the previous three years. All reviewers who have provided four or more reviews over the course of this three-year period are eligible to be considered for the Award. As with the previous recipients of this award – Pauline Ippolito, Robert Meyer, Andreas Oehler, Iain Ramsay, Wencke Gwozdz, J. Michael Collins

A. Mathios adm5@cornell.edu

H.-W. Micklitz hans.micklitz@eui.eu

L. Reisch lr540@cam.ac.uk

J. Thøgersen jbt@mgmt.au.dk

Published online: 09 April 2024

- Cornell Jeb E. Brooks School of Public Policy, Martha Van Rensselaer Hall, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY 14853, USA
- Department of Law, European University Institute, Villa Salviati, Via Salviati 3B, 50139 Florence, FI, Italy
- ³ El Erian Institute of Behavioural Economics and Policy, University of Cambridge, 25 Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1QA, UK
- Department of Management, Aarhus BSS, Aarhus University, Fuglesangs Allé 4, 8210 Aarhus V, Denmark
- School of Law, University of Warwick, Gibbet Hill Road, Coventry CV4 7AL, UK



and Jeanne M. Hogarth – the recipient of this year's Award was selected unanimously by the editors of the journal.

The editors are proud to announce that, in 2024, the award goes to Vanessa Mak who is a Professor of Civil Law at the Institute of Private law at the University of Leiden in the Netherlands. Before joining Leiden in 2020, she was a Professor of Dutch and European Contract Law at the University of Tilburg. Her PhD was awarded by the University of Oxford in 2006, for a thesis which examined performance-oriented remedies in European Sale of Goods Law from a comparative perspective. Professor Mak has written extensively on contract and consumer law, including a monograph on *Legal Pluralism in European Contract Law* (Oxford University Press, 2020). As well as being a member of the editorial board of this journal, she is a member of the editorial teams for the *Tijdschrift voor Consumentenrecht en handelspraktijken* (TvC) and the *Journal of European Consumer and Market Law* (EuCML).

Professor Mak's reviews on submissions dealing with the consumer policy aspects of legal developments are clear and helpful to both editors and authors alike. Her expertise as a leading European consumer and contract law scholar is such that the Journal's editors call on her regularly because this journal frequently receives submissions relevant to her expertise. We are deeply grateful for her willingness to review so many papers and provide such insightful and helpful guidance to the editors and the authors.

Alan Mathios Hans-W Micklitz Lucia Reisch John Thøgersen Christian Twigg-Flesner

Publisher's Note Springer Nature remains neutral with regard to jurisdictional claims in published maps and institutional affiliations.

