Editors' Message

Robert Schneider, Managing Editor Clifford I. Voss, Executive Editor William E. Wilson, former Managing Editor

The past year in review. In the last year of the millennium (2000), Hydrogeology Journal again provided readers with an expanded volume - 677 pages (14% more than in 1999) of hydrogeology from throughout the world. Included were 48 major articles. In 2000, the annual theme issue, titled "Groundwater and Microbial Processes," with Barbara Bekins as Guest Editor, provided an overview of the current state of this rapidly changing field. Included were three main themes: populations of microorganisms in the subsurface, the role of subsurface microorganisms in controlling chemical reactions, and methods of studying subsurface microorganisms. The final issue of the year contained the annual volume index. To mark the passage of 2000, this issue also contained a full list of the contents of every issue and an index of all topics and authors published in Hydrogeology Journal (and its predecessor, Applied Hydrogeology) since the journal's inception in 1992. As always, the Editors solicit feedback from readers concerning technical soundness, format, and topics. Let us hear from you!

Meet the new Managing Editor, by Bob Schneider. Most readers probably never heard of me until I began corresponding last July with Associate Editors, authors, and reviewers, as Acting Managing Editor. Since then, I have been responsible for the processing of all new articles submitted to *Hydrogeology Journal*, as a prelude to Bill Wilson's departure at the end of 2000.

At this point, you might wonder how I became interested in this job. Before I learned about Bill's plans to leave the position, I had been assisting him, since 1998, on editing selected manuscripts by authors whose ability in writing English was limited. This experience turned out to be very satisfying and it improved my perception of the importance of the journal to the international hydrogeological community. Specifically, however, it made me realize how effective the journal is in providing hydrogeologists from all over the world with the opportunity to publish the results of their research and investigations in English.

For most of my career in the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), I was a geologist or hydrologist. I was assigned to a variety of geologic and hydrogeologic projects at field offices in north-central and southern USA; staff work on the nationwide groundwater research program and the contaminant hydrology program; and, for short periods, as a technical consultant to Brazil and Israel. Ad-

ditionally, for about 2.5 years I was Staff Hydrologist for the evaluation of all water-related reports prior to their release by the USGS. Since leaving the USGS in 1984, I have been a consulting hydrogeologist, working mostly on groundwater contamination problems.

My involvement with the IAH began when I joined in 1972. I was Secretary-Treasurer of the U.S. National Committee of the IAH for three years and, from 1991–94, an elected member of the Committee. My editorial experience has included four years on the Editorial Board of the journal *Ground Water* and, from 1996–2000, as an Associate Editor.

To conclude, I thank Bill Wilson for his help and cooperation during my period of introduction and orientation to this position. I intend to do my best to emulate the extraordinary level of service and dedication that he has provided the journal and to continue the effort to make it one of the most outstanding and most widely distributed publications in hydrogeology.

Thanks! The success of the journal is due in great part to the many who contribute to its production. First and foremost are the authors from all parts of the world who form the backbone of the journal. The support, guidance, and patience of the staff of the publisher, Springer Verlag, especially Wolfgang Engel and Susanne Schweickert, are much appreciated. Two manuscript editors, William Johnson and Robert Schneider continued to create publishable manuscripts out of articles that were acceptable technically but that needed major editing. We are particularly grateful to the staff of volunteer Associate Editors, listed on page A3 in this issue, whose involvement in reviewing manuscripts was greatly expanded in 2000. Their effectiveness in conducting or arranging for reviews substantially lightened the workload of the Managing Editor. In addition, they provided advice, solicited manuscripts, and generally gave the journal solid technical support. In addition to the Associate Editors, many others volunteered their time and expertise to review manuscripts; their contributions provide the framework for the technical soundness of articles that appear in the journal. Below is a list of 128 peer reviewers (not including Associate Editors) who completed reviews during 2000. Thanks to all for your contributions!

Keywords editorial · *Hydrogeology Journal*

Eilon Adar Michail A. Antipov Charles A. Appel T.C. Atkinson Kathryn Baird Gerhard Barmen Michael Barrett Okke Batelaan Matt Becker Craig H. Benson David Benson Robert J. Bisdorf Jacques Bodin James W. Borchers William G. Burgess Eurybiades Busenberg E. Carlier Alejandra Carrillo J.J. Carrillo-Rivera R.C. Carter Alain Cloot Christy A. Crandall Allan Crowe William L. Cunningham Donal Daly Ralph K. Davis Mike Dawson J. DeCook Ingrid Dennis Alexander J. Desbarats Nathalie Doerfliger Jane Dottridge

Nicholas Eyles Jack D. Farmer Timothy Filley David Fitterman Richard E. Gerber Mark Goldman Laurence Gourcy Earl A. Greene M.A. Habermehl William Harrar Ernest Hauser Masaki Hayashi Martin Helmke C.J. Hemker Heinz Hoetzl Paul Hsieh Charles D. Hunt, Jr. Peter Huntoon Gunnar Jacks Roger Jacobson Ian C. Jones Mark Jones Robert T. Kay Elizabeth Keating C. Kent Keller Kenneth L. Kipp A. Algirdas Klimas Henk Kooi V.S. Krupoderov Himanshu Kulkarni Edward L. Landa

Linda S. Lee

Roger W. Lee Veronique Leonardi Shrikant D. Limaye Ross Lunetta **Brad Lyles** Thomas Maddock III Marisol Manzano Larry McKay Sean McKenna John Milliman Thomas M. Missimer Richard L. Naff Christopher E. Neuzil K. Novakowski Julia Pacheco-Avila Asef Pekdeger G. Peschke David Pollock Gilles Porel Jean-Michel Puig Antonio Pulido-Bosch Malcolm Reeves N.S. Robins M.C. Ryan William E. Sanford Robert A. Schincariol Stephanie Dunkle Shapiro A. Shpak Donald Siegel Jan Šilar P.L. Smart P.L. Smedley

James E. Smith V.I. Sobolev Fritz Stauffer David Stonestrom W.V. Swarzenski Richard Taylor Jesus L. Tenajas Roger Thunvik Vincent C. Tidwell Eduardo Usunoff H.L. Vacher Juan B. Valdes Paul Van Geel Marcelo Varni Avner Vengosh Laurent Vulliet H. Niklaus Waber Shirley C. Wade Douglas D. Walker Stephen W. Wheatcraft Ian White Mark D. White Thomas C. Winter William R. Wise Stefan Wohnlich Yongxin Xu Richard M. Yager Tian-Chyi J. Yeh Paul L. Younger Wang Zhaoxin Li Zheng Hans Zojer