

Announcement

ICTV Plenary Session

The Plenary Session of ICTV will be held at the International Congress of Virology on Tuesday 30th July at 12.45 h. The location will be announced at the Congress.

The main business of the meeting will be

- A report by the President on ICTV activities since the 1999 Congress.
- Reports by Subcommittee Chairs of progress in the taxonomy of their particular viruses followed by specific taxonomic proposals. There will be a vote by the ICTV membership on these proposals.
- Elections for membership of the Executive Committee.

The Executive Committee positions available for election are the President, the Vice-President and 8 elected members. Current holders of positions who have been nominated for re-election for a second 3 year term are Jack Maniloff (Vice-President), Eric Carstens, Anne-Lise Haenni, Ann Palmenberg and Lois Blaine (elected members).

Nominations may be made by any virologist of persons to fill the positions of President and 4 elected members.

Nominations should be sent to Mike Mayo (ICTV Secretary) at mmayo@scri.sari.ac.uk. They must be accompanied by an indication that the nominee is willing to stand for election and a brief biographical sketch of the nominee. The nominations list will close 2 days prior to the Plenary Session. A Nominations Subcommittee of the Executive Committee will organize the nominations into a slate for voting at the Plenary Session.

Those eligible to vote in these elections are members of ICTV (National Members, Life Members and Executive Committee Members).