## **Best Paper Awards for 2022**

© Springer Science+Business Media, LLC, part of Springer Nature 2023

During 2013, Birkhäuser (Springer) instituted three Best Paper Awards for papers published in Circuits, Systems and Signal Processing (see the announcement in the October 2013 issue of CSSP). A call for nominations for these awards was sent out to all the Associate Editors inviting them to nominate those papers published in 2021 or 2022 in CSSP, which should be considered for these awards. This call was also posted on the CSSP Website inviting nominations from CSSP readers. A total of seven papers were nominated. A Selection Committee consisting of Dr. P.V. Ananda Mohan, Electronics Corporation of India, Bengaluru, India, Dr. Tokunbo Ogunfumi, Santa Clara University, Santa Clara, U.S.A., Dr. Brajesh Kumar Kaushik, Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee, India, and Dr. Ahmed M Soliman, Cairo University, Cairo, Egypt, was set up to select the best paper in each category for the year 2022. The recipients for the Armen H. Zemanian Best Paper Award, given for the best paper published in 2022 in the areas of Circuits and Systems are Sudip Ghosh, Yuvam Bateja, Joshua Roy Palathinkal and Hafizur Rahaman for their paper "Hardware Design with Real Time Implementation for Security of Medical Images and EMPR" published in the February issue, pp. 867–891. The recipients for the Sydney R. Parker Best Paper Award, given for the best paper published in 2022 in the area of Signal Processing are N. Ramesh Babu, K. Sanjay and P. Balasubraminam for their paper "Enhanced Edge Detection Algorithm via Generalized Integer and Fractional-Order Operators", published in the October issue, pp. 5492–5534. The latter paper was also chosen for the M.N.S. Swamy Best Paper Award, which is given for the best paper published in 2021 or 2022 irrespective of the subject area. Each of these awardees will receive a certificate and a cash prize. I would like to congratulate the recipients of the three awards. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank all the nominators and especially, the members of the Selection Committee for their time and effort in selecting the winners for the various awards.

M.N.S. Swamy. Editor-in-Chief, CSSP.

Publisher's Note Springer Nature remains neutral with regard to jurisdictional claims in published maps and institutional affiliations.

