Best Paper Awards for 2019

© Springer Science+Business Media, LLC, part of Springer Nature 2021

During 2013, Birkhäuser (Springer) instituted three Best Paper Awards for papers published in Circuits, Systems and Signal Processing (see the announcement in the October 2013 issue of CSSP). A call for nominations for these awards was sent out to all the Associate Editors inviting them to nominate those papers published in 2018 or 2019 in CSSP, which should be considered for these awards. This call was also posted on the CSSP Website. A total of six papers were nominated. A Selection Committee consisting of Dr. P.V. Ananda Mohan, Electronics Corporation of India, Bangalore, India, Dr. Fabian Khateb, Brno University, Brno, Czech Republic and Dr. Tokunbo Ogunfumi, Santa Clara University, Santa Clara, U.S.A., was set up to select the best paper in each category for the year 2019. The recipients for the Armen H. Zemanian Best Paper Award, given for the best paper published in 2019 in the areas of Circuits and Systems are Goutham Makkena and M.B. Srinivas for their paper "Levin's Transformation-based Continuous-time Linear-Phase Selective Filters", published in the November 2019 issue, pp. 4921-4932. The recipients for the Sydney R. Parker Best Paper Award, given for the best paper published in 2019 in the area of Signal Processing are Uday A Korat and Amirhossein Alimohammad for their paper "A Reconfigurable Hardware Architecture for Principal Component Analysis", published in the May 2019 issue, pp. 2097–2113. The former paper was also chosen for the M.N.S. Swamy Best Paper Award, which is given for the best paper published in 2018 or 2019 irrespective of the subject area. Each of these awardees will receive a certificate and a cash prize. I would like to congratulate the recipients of the three awards. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank all the nominators and especially, the members of the Selection Committee for their time and effort in selecting the winners for the various awards.

> M.N.S. Swamy Editor-in-Chief, CSSP

