## **Best Paper Awards for 2014**

© Springer Science+Business Media New York 2016

During 2013, Birkhäuser (Springer) instituted three Best Paper Awards for papers published in Circuits, Systems and Signal Processing (see the announcement in the October 2013 issue of CSSP). A call for nominations for these awards was sent out to all the Associate Editors inviting them to nominate those papers published in 2013 or 2014 in CSSP, which should be considered for these awards. This call was also posted on the CSSP Web site. A total of eight papers were nominated. A Selection Committee consisting of Dr. P. V. Ananda Mohan, Electronic Corporation of India Limited, Bangalore, India; Dr. Peng Shi of Victoria University, Australia; Dr. Pramod Kumar Meher of Nanyang University of Technology, Singapore; and Dr. Arjuna madanayake of the University of Akron, USA, was set up to select the best paper in each category for the year 2014. The recipients for the Armen H. Zemanian Best Paper Award, given for the best paper published in 2014 in the areas of Circuits and Systems, are Yaonan Tong, Yigang He, Hongmin Li, Wenxin Yu, and Ying Long for their paper entitled "Analog Implementation of Wavelet Transform in Switched-Current Circuits with High Approximation Precision and Minimum Circuit Coefficients," published in the August 2014 issue. The recipients for the Sydney R. Parker Best Paper Award, given for the best paper published in 2014 in the area of Signal Processing, are Jichao Jiao, Zhongliang Deng, Baojun Zhao, John Femiani, Xin Wang for their paper "A Hybrid Method for Multi-sensor Remote Sensing Image Registration Based on Salience Region," published in the July 2014 issue. The latter paper was also chosen for the M.N.S. Swamy Best Paper Award, which is given for the best paper published in 2013 or 2014 irrespective of the subject area. Each of these awardees will receive a certificate and a cash prize. I would like to congratulate the recipients of the three awards. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank all the nominators and especially the members of Selection Committee for their time and effort in selecting the winners for the various awards.

M.N.S. Swamy Editor-in-Chief, CSSP

