Editors' Message

William E. Wilson, Managing Editor Clifford I. Voss, Executive Editor

The past year in review. 1999 brought readers more issues (6), more articles (59), and more pages (595) of *Hydrogeology Journal* than ever before. The switch to six issues instead of the four issues of years past enabled authors to be published sooner and provided readers the pleasure of receiving the journal every second month. The primary types of articles in the journal continue to be Papers (23 in 1999) and Reports (25 in 1999). In 1999, the annual theme issue, titled "Groundwater as a Geologic Agent," with József Tóth as Guest Editor, provided a comprehensive overview of the causes, processes, and manifestations of groundwater acting as a geologic agent. All in all, the Editors believe that it was a highly successful year for the journal; we hope you agree – let us know how you feel about *Hydrogeology Journal* and the direction in which it is evolving.

Thanks! The success of the journal is due in great part to the many who contribute to its production. First and foremost are the authors from all parts of the world who form the backbone of the journal. The support, guidance, and patience of the staff of the publisher, Springer Verlag, especially Wolfgang Engel

R. Ian Acworth Eilon Adar Hans-Jørgen Albrechtson Braimah Apambire M.A. Armienta Donald Armstrong Erland Bååth Jack Barbash Kenneth Belitz Philip C. Bennett Laura M. Bexfield Daniel Biehler J.F. Botha Jock Buselli Francis H. Chapelle John P. Chilton Isabelle Coleto Fiaño Richard L. Cooley Anne Coudrain-Ribstein Gary P. Curtis S.B. Deolanker Jan Dowgiallo Yoram Eckstein W. Michael Edmunds Sarah Evers Nicholas Eyles Amr A. Fadelmawla Mario Fili Timothy Filley R. Stephen Fisher Peter Forsyth Klaus Froehlich Alan E. Fryar

Mel Gascoyne Joel Geier Charles P. Gerba Mebus A. Gevh Fred Ghassemi Gian Paolo Giani Pierre D. Glynn Sylvia Goddard Daniel J. Goode J. Groen Gultekin Gunay Sheridan K. Haack M.A. Habermehl Jeffrey S. Hanor Gerold Heinrichs R.A. Herbert John J. Hickey Marc Hinton Robert Horton Walter A. Illman William P. Johnson Brian G. Katz Robert T. Kay Yousif K. Kharaka Ivan L. Kharkhordin Peter K. Kitanidis Henk Kooi Nic E. Korte Jiri Krasny Thom Krom Noel Krothe Lee R. Krumholz Sari B. Kusumudyah

Chen-Waing Liu E. Paul Loehnert Eugene L. Madsen Piotr Maloszewski Peter Martin Perry L. McCarty Don Mclean Peter B. McMahon Michael Meyer John Milliman Aaron L. Mills Steve A. Mizell D. Kirk Nordstrom Ronald S. Oremland Leonard L. Orzol Norman R. Pace Frederick L. Paillet Mark Person Zell E. Peterman H.-R. Pfeifer Andrew R. Piggott Holly C. Pinkart Eileen Poeter Antonio Pulido-Bosch Gaetano Ranieri Eric Reichard Rememda Karen C. Rice David L. Rudolph Javier Samper Per Sander Ward Sanford Kate M. Scow

and Susanne Schweickert, are much appreciated. Two manuscript editors, William Johnson and Robert Schneider, continue to create publishable manuscripts out of articles that were acceptable technically but that needed major editing. Thanks to Barbara Bekins, Guest Editor, for so ably organizing this theme issue during 1999. We are particularly grateful to the staff of volunteer Associate Editors, listed on page A3 in this issue, whose involvement in reviewing manuscripts was greatly expanded in 1999. Their effectiveness in conducting or arranging for reviews substantially lightened the work load of the Managing Editor. In addition, they provided advice, solicited manuscripts, and generally gave the journal solid technical support. In addition to the Associate Editors, many others volunteered their time and expertise to review manuscripts; their contributions provide the framework for the technical soundness of articles that appear in the journal. Below is a list of 129 peer reviewers (not including the Associate Editors) who completed reviews during 1999. Thanks to all for your contributions!

Key words editorial · Hydrogeology Journal

Allen Shapiro John M. Sharp, Jr. Luis Silveira Craig Simmons B.B.S. Singhal Geoffrey D. Smith J. Leslie Smith D.J. Stanley Jon J. Starn William Steinkampf J. Szczapanska Péter Szücs Charles J. Taylor Augustin Tenu Donald Thorstenson Sven Tirén Thomas Torgerson Mary Ellen Tucillo Jeffrey Turner Garth van der Kamp Ingrid van der Voort Douglas P. Walker Herbert F. Wang S.A. Welch Ian White Carol M. Wicks Michael Wireman Yoseph Yechieli Cahit Yesertener M.E. Young Alexander Zaporozec Li Zheng