NEWS LETTER

BRITISH COLUMBIA DIVISION

Dr. James Blair Fulton, who recently completed his training in Anaesthesia leading to Fellowship, has joined Associated Anaesthetic Services and the Staff of the Vancouver General Hospital.

Donald Matheson, M.B., Ch.B., B.A., F.F.A.R.C.S. (England), has joined Associated Anaesthetic Services and the Staff of the Vancouver General Hospital.

Dr. Maria Mate, who recently completed her training in Anaesthesia at the Vancouver General Hospital, has joined the Staff of St. Paul's Hospital, Vancouver, B.C.

Dr. Leonard Cecil Jenkins has been awarded the Burroughs-Wellcome, Poulenc Ltd, and Abbott Laboratories Fellowship in Basic Sciences at the University of British Columbia.

Dr. J. M. Hiddleston, who recently completed a year in Basic Sciences at the University of British Columbia, is taking six months' residency in Anaesthesia at the Royal Infirmary, Glasgow Scotland.

Dr. James K. Whittal, who recently was with the Department of Public Health, British Columbia, has commenced his anaesthesia training at the Shaughnessy Veteran's Hospital, Vancouver, B.C.

Dr. John H. Harland, who recently practised in Kamloops, British Columbia, has commenced his Fellowship training in Anaesthesiology at the Vancouver General Hospital.

Dr. Horace B. Graves will represent Associated Anaesthetic Services at the World Congress of Anaesthesiologists, Schevenigen (Holland), September 5-10, 1955.

Tenders have been called for a 500-bed addition to the Vancouver General Hospital.

ALBERTA DIVISION

The officers of the Alberta Division for 1955-56 are:

Chairman: Dr. Frank E. Lundy, Calgary.

Secretary-Treasurer: Dr. Rhoda B. Robertson, Calgary.

SASKATCHEWAN DIVISION

The officers of the Saskatchewan Division for 1955-56 are: Chairman: Dr. M. Vivyan Morton, Saskatoon. Secretary-Treasurer: Dr. C. J. Kilduff, Saskatoon.

MANITOBA DIVISION

Dr. Jack Brener, Head of the Department of Anaesthesia of the Misericordia Hospital, was appointed Acting Superintendent of the Hospital in April 1955.

A number of the members of the Anaesthetic Staff of the St. Boniface Hospital have moved either permanently or temporarily. Dr. T. J. Halkiewicz has left to join the Anaesthetic Staff of the Grace Hospital in Toronto. Dr. Henry Devlin has also left for Toronto. He will be associated with the group at the Humber Memorial Hospital, Weston.

Dr. Thomas F. Todd is taking a one-year residency at the University of Minnesota with Dr. Van Bergen.

Dr. Guenther Semelka will join the St. Boniface Anaesthetic Clinic on August 1, 1955.

Dr. T. J. McCaughey, D.A., recently from Newfoundland, has joined the Anaesthetic group at the Winnipeg General Hospital. He is a graduate of Belfast, Ireland.

Dr. Jack Crawford from Ipswich, England, has joined the group of Associated Anaesthetists of Winnipeg. His wife and child recently arrived from the Old Country to join him.

Dr. Myrl Gard, a recent graduate of the University of Manitoba, has started her training as Assistant Resident in Anaesthesia at the Winnipeg General Hospital.

The Operating Rooms in the new wing at St. Boniface Hospital were opened on the 22nd of July. To the local medical profession they represent all that is most up-to-date and efficient in operating room and anaesthetic service.

At the monthly meeting in May, the Winnipeg Anaesthetic Society elected the slate of officers for the coming season:

President: Dr. David Tass. Vice-President: Dr. J. I. Davies.

Secretary-Treasurer: Dr. A. W. Natsuk.

ONTARIO DIVISION

The Ontario Division are planning to hold a meeting in Windsor in October 1955. Definite dates will be announced to members of the Division later.

The following retirements, promotions, and new appointments have been made in the Department of Anaesthesia, Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto, as of July 1, 1955:

Dr. A. Ralph Hargrave, Associate in Anaesthesia, has retired and relinquished his appointment as Chief Anaesthetist at the Toronto Western Hospital. He has been succeeded by Dr. H. Rice Meredith.

Dr. Douglas Bastow has retired from his teaching appointment on the University staff.

Promotions

Dr. R. A. Gordon, Toronto General Hospital, from Clinical Teacher to Associate.

Dr. C. Ivan Junkin, Hospital for Sick Children, from Clinical Teacher to Associate.

Dr. Shirley Fleming and Dr. Stuart L. Vandewater, Toronto General Hospital, from Clinical Assistant to Clinical Teacher.

New Appointments as Clinical Assistants

Dr. Paul Bailey, at St. Michael's Hospital.

Dr. G. W. Dix, Dr. Margaret Sheehan, Dr. F. Van V. Snell, Dr. J. S. Whalen, at the Hospital for Sick Children.

Dr. Garnet Dixon, at the Toronto Western Hospital.

Dr., H. B. F. Fairley, at the Toronto General Hospital, from Registrar in Anaesthetics at the Brompton Chest Hospital, London, England.

Resident Fellows in Anaesthesia for one year

Dr. Ian S. H. Harper, at the Toronto General Hospital.

Dr. J. G. Robinson, at the Hospital for Sick Children.

Dr. Leonard Weston, at the Toronto Western Hospital.

Dr. J. F. MacIntosh, at the Toronto East General Hospital.

Dr. W. E. Martin has retired as Chief of the Department of Anaesthesia at the Toronto East General and Orthopaedic Hospital, and Dr. R. A. Chaplin has been appointed as Chief of the Department.

Officers of the Ontario Division, Canadian Anaesthetists' Society, for 1955-56 are:

Chairman: Dr. R. A. Chaplin, Toronto.

Members of Council: Dr. J. Gorman, Windsor.

Dr. R. Probert, Hamilton.

Dr. J. Wishart, Peterborough.

Secretary-Treasurer: Dr. G. F. Smith, Toronto.

QUEBEC DIVISION

Dr. Alan B. Noble has been appointed Chief of the Department of Anaesthesia of the Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal. Dr. Noble has been Chief of the Department of Anaesthesia at the Hôtel Dieu Hospital, Kingston, Ontario.

Ů

We record with regret the death of Dr. Walter Stockwell, of the Anaesthetic Staff of the Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal. Dr. Stockwell died on June 20, 1955.

ø

The officers of the Quebec Division, Canadian Anaesthetists' Society for 1955-56 are:

Chairman: Dr. Marius Dubeau, Montreal.

Members of Council: Dr. H. R. Griffith, Montreal.

Dr. Louis Lamoureux, Montreal.

Secretary-Treasurer: Dr. W. G. Cullen, Montreal.

New Brunswick Division

The officers of the New Brunswick Division for 1955-56 are: Chairman: Dr. A. M. R. Brown, Saint John. Secretary-Treasurer: Dr. T. Lunney, Saint John.

NOVA SCOTIA DIVISION

The officers of the Nova Scotia Division for 1955-56 are: Chairman: Dr. R. A. P. Fleming, Halifax. Secretary-Treasurer: Dr. A. S. Wenning, Halifax.

Newfoundland Division

Dr. I. Levitz and Dr. C. Henderson of St. John's have completed courses in anaesthesiology, and have been certificated. Both are now in the private practice of Anaesthesia at St. John's, and are on the staff of the St. John's General Hospital.

There are presently five certificated anaesthetists on the staff of the St. John's General Hospital.

CANADIAN ANAESTHETISTS' SOCIETY ANNUAL MEETING, 1956

The Annual Meeting for 1956 will be held at Mont Tremblant Lodge, Mont Tremblant, Quebec, on June 18, 19, 20, 1956. In order that the best possible programme may be arranged, it is essential that all individuals wishing to present papers at this meeting should advise the Secretary at the earliest possible date. Since programme and meeting arrangements must be finalized prior to March 1, 1956, it is requested that title and summary of the subject to be presented should reach the Secretary not later than November 1, 1955.