NEWS LETTER

THE ANNUAL MEETING, 1967

The Annual Meeting of 1967 held in Montreal will inevitably go down in history as the Expo Meeting. Despite the importance of Expo 67 as a secondary attraction, the Scientific Sessions were attended by large and attentive audiences who were undaunted even by the 8 A.M. opening hour. Five hundred and twenty physicians were registered for the meeting. The programme was of uniformly high calibre, from the Lectures presented by our eminent guests from Europe to the Residents' Programme. The Social Programme was one of the best examples of the superlative hospitality for which our Montreal hosts are so well known. All those who were fortunate enough to attend the meeting will wish to join the Journal in congratulations and thanks to the Quebec Division, the local Montreal Committee, and the Secretariat for a job superbly done in the face of unusual difficulties; and in appreciation for the benefactions of the Pharmaceutical Houses which made possible the attendance of Dr. Eric Nilsson, Dr. Guy Vourc'h, Dr. Rudolf Frey, Dr. André Soetens, and Dr. Harry Churchill-Davidson.

Right: The Incoming President, Dr. Stuart Vandewater, presents the traditional gavel to his predecessor, Dr. Ian Purkis. From left to right, Dr. Vandewater, Mrs. Purkis, Dr. Purkis. (Photo-ABC Pictures)

Below: The Winners of the Ayerst Laboratories Prizes for the best papers presented in the Residents' Programme at the Annual Meeting, with Dr. H. Churchill-Davidson, Chairman of the Panel of Adjudicators. From left to right, Dr. Dale L. Zoerb, University of Saskatchewan (3rd Prize); Dr. H. C. Churchill-Davidson, St. Thomas's Hospital, London, England; Dr. Gordon R. Sellery, University of Toronto (1st Prize); Dr. Marcos G. Viguera, University of Toronto (2nd Prize). (Photo-ABC Pictures)



