dyestuffs manufacture, synthetic medicinals, the photographic industry and much more. The pure research on the growth of plants by GILBERT and LAWES at Rothamsted formed the basis of the vast present day synthetic fertilizer industry, the importance of which in the production of food needs no emphasizing in a hungry world. Every day we can see evidence of the work of men like Crookes, Dewar and Ramsay. The cathode ray tube of CROOKES is the direct ancestor of our television screens, the thermos flask of DEWAR is one example of the application of Dewar's low temperature experiments and neon display signs are but one instance of the use man has made of RAMSAY's epochmaking discovery of the rare gases. Innumerable instances of benefits to mankind from the discoveries made by the Fellows in their original researches can be cited from the rich proud history of the Society.

With such a history and with its present day virility the Society is clearly justified in planning to make the celebration of its Centenary an important event. The importance was indeed internationally recognized in the decision taken in Rome in 1938 by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry to hold its next International Congress in London at the time of the Centenary of the Chemical Society. This decision is to be implemented next year and immediately following the celebrations on July 15th to July 17th 1947, the Eleventh International Congress of Pure and Applied Chemistry will also take place in London.

An international outlook has always been characteristic of the Society and this will be reflected in the series of social and scientific events which will constitute the three days of celebrations. Many distinguished overseas delegates are to be invited. These will include the Honorary Fellows of the Society, among whom are the world's greatest chemists of to-day. If those invited are able to accept we shall see in London in July 1947 perhaps the greatest international gathering of chemists that will ever have taken place. One of these distinguished chemists will be invited to follow in the line of DUMAS, CANNIZZARO, WURTZ, MENDELEJEW, OSTWALD, FISCHER, RICHARDS, ARRHENIUS, BOHR, DEBYE, RUTHERFORD and LANGMUIR as the Society's Faraday Lecturer. The Faraday Lectureship was founded in 1867 to commemorate the name of MICHAEL FARADAY. who was elected a Fellow of the Society in 1842 and was one of its Vice-Presidents. In addition to the Faraday Lecture, it is intended that there should be a centenary address and a formal ceremony for the presentation of addresses. It is also hoped to arrange a number of scientific lectures, visits to places of interest in the London area and an exhibition which will be at the Science Museum during the period of the celebrations and the International Congress.

The Chemical Society is already well forward in planning for the occasion and has enrolled some of its lead-

ing Fellows as an Executive Committee which has put the arrangements of details in the hands of a number of Sub-Committees; the chairmen of these are indicated in the following list of the members of the Executive.

Professor C. N. Hinschelwood (President of the Society) as Chairman

Dr. M. P. APPLEBEY

Mr. A. L. Bacharach (Chairman of the Publicity Sub-Committee)

Dr. G. M. Bennett

Mr. S. E. CARR Dr. F. H. CARR

Professor J. W. Cook

Dr. C. J. T. CRONSHAW

Mr. F. P. Dunn (Treasurer of the Society and Chairman of Finance Sub-Committee)

Sir Alfred Egerton

Professor A. Findlay (Chairman of Meetings, Entertainments and Social Functions Sub-Committee)

Professor C. S. Gibson

Professor J. M. GULLAND

Sir Ian Heilbron (Chairman of the Reception, Membership and Accommodation Sub-Committee)

Lady Heilbron (Chairman of the Ladies Sub-Committee)

Professor D. H. HEY (Honorary Secretary of the Society)

Professor E. L. HIRST

Professor C. K. INGOLD

Dr. L. H. LAMPITT

Dr. R. P. LINSTEAD

Professor T. S. Moore (Chairman of the Centenary Volume Sub-Committee)

Sir Robert Pickard

Mr. H. V. POTTER

Mr. I. DAVIDSON PRATT

Professor E. K. RIDEAL

Sir Robert Robertson (Chairman of the Exhibition Sub-Committee)

Sir Robert Robinson

Dr. G. Roche Lynch

Dr. F. Roffey

Professor N. V. Sidgwick

Dr. J. L. Simonsen (Honorary Secretary of the Society)

Professor A. R. Todd

Professor W. Wardlaw (Honorary Secretary of the Society) with Dr. D. C. Martin (General Secretary of the Society), as Secretary.

Corrigendum

Exper. 2, 378 (1946)

Im Bericht über «X-ray analysis during the war years, 1946 Conference» war beim Referat von R. W. G. Wyckoff angegeben worden, daß einzelne Tabakmosaikvirusteilchen von 8 Å Durchmesser sichtbar gemacht werden konnten. Diese Angabe beruht auf einem Irrtum und muß durch den Wert 125 Å ersetzt werden.