United Kingdom Overseas Territories administered through the Foreign and Commonwealth Office comprise, in the Indian Ocean: British Indian Ocean Territory; in the Mediterranean: Gibraltar, the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in Cyprus; in the Atlantic Ocean: Bermuda, Falkland Islands, South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands, British Antarctic Territory, St Helena and Dependencies (Ascension and Tristan da Cunha); in the Caribbean: Montserrat, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands, Anguilla; in the Western Pacific: Pitcairn Group of Islands.

The Australian external territories are: Ashmore and Cartier Islands, Australian Antarctic Territory, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Coral Sea Islands, Heard and McDonald Islands, and Norfolk Island. The New Zealand external territories are: Tokelau Islands and the Ross Dependency. The New Zealand associated states are: Cook Islands and Niue.

Headquarters: Marlborough House, Pall Mall, London,

SW1Y 5HX, UK.

Website: http://www.thecommonwealth.org

Email: info@commonwealth.int

Secretary-General: Baroness Scotland of Asthal (UK/Dominica).

Selected publications. Commonwealth Yearbook.—The Commonwealth at the Summit: Communiqués of Commonwealth Heads of Government Meetings. 1997. For a full list of Commonwealth publications, visit the website: http://www.commonwealthofnations.org/publications

Further Reading

The Cambridge History of the British Empire. 8 vols. 1929 ff.
Judd, D. and Slinn, P., The Evolution of the Modern Commonwealth. 1982
Madden, F. and Fieldhouse, D. (eds.) Selected Documents on the
Constitutional History of the British Empire and Commonwealth. 1994
Mayall, James, (ed.) The Contemporary Commonwealth. 2009
McIntyre, W. D., The Significance of the Commonwealth, 1965–90. 1991

Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

The Commonwealth of Independent States, founded on 8 Dec. 1991 in Belarus, is a community of independent states that proclaimed itself the successor to the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) in some aspects of international law and affairs. When negotiations on its founding began in 1990, it sought to embrace all the 15 constituent republics of the USSR at that date. The founding members—Russia, Belarus and Ukraine—were subsequently joined by Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. However, Turkmenistan withdrew as a permanent member in 2005 to become an associate member and Georgia withdrew altogether in 2009.

Member states are committed to recognizing the independence and sovereignty of other members, to respecting human rights including those of national minorities and to observing existing boundaries. Members agreed that Russia should take up the seat at the United Nations formerly occupied by the USSR. In March 1994 the CIS was accorded observer status at the UN. Ukraine's continued involvement with the CIS (as a participating state rather than as a full member) was thrown into doubt after Russia's annexation of Crimea in March 2014, with some politicians calling for a complete withdrawal. In Aug. 2016 Ukraine protested to the CIS over its plans to send monitors to Russian State Duma elections in Crimea.

The principal organs of the CIS, according to the agreement concluded in Alma-Ata on 21 Dec. 1991, are the Council of Heads of States and the Council of Heads of Government. There

is also a Council of Defence Ministers, established in Feb. 1992, and a Council of Foreign Ministers (Dec. 1993). The Secretariat is the standing working organ.

Headquarters: 220030 Minsk, Kirova 17, Belarus. Website (Russian only): http://www.cis.minsk.by

Email: info@e-cis.info

Executive Secretary: Sergei Lebedev (Russia).

Eurasian Economic Union (EEU)

The EEU came into being on 1 Jan. 2015 as the successor organization to the Eurasian Economic Community (EurAsEC, founded in 2000). It was established by treaty in May 2014 and provides for the free movement of goods, services, capital and labour across member states.

Membership. As of Feb. 2018 there were five member states: Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Russia.

Organization. The Supreme Council is the highest authority, consisting of the heads of state of the members. There is also an Intergovernmental Council, made up of the heads of government. The Eurasian Economic Commission serves as the permanent regulatory body, charged with supporting the operation and development of the Union and drafting proposals for economic integration. The Court of the EEU seeks to ensure the uniform application of all relevant treaties.

Eurasian Economic Commission Headquarters: 2 Letnikovskaya St., Bldg 1/2, Moscow 115114, Russia.

Website: http://www.eaeunion.org
Email: info@eecommission.org

Chairman of the Board of the Eurasian Economic Commission: Tigran Sargsyan (Armenia).

International Air Transport Association (IATA)

Founded in 1945 for inter-airline co-operation in promoting safe, reliable, secure and economical air services, IATA has approximately 280 members from 120 nations worldwide. IATA is the successor to the International Air Traffic Association, founded in The Hague in 1919, the year of the world's first international scheduled services.

Main offices: IATA Centre, Route de l'Aéroport 33, PO Box 416, CH-1215 Geneva, Switzerland. 800 Place Victoria, PO Box 113, Montreal. Ouebec. Canada H4Z 1M1.

Website: http://www.iata.org

Director-General: Alexandre de Juniac (France).

International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC)

The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) is a Swissbased impartial, neutral and independent organization ensuring