European Broadcasting Union (EBU)

Founded in 1950 by western European radio and television broadcasters, the EBU is the world's largest professional association of national broadcasters, with 73 active members in 56 countries of Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, and 33 associate members worldwide. The EBU merged with the OIRT, its counterpart in eastern Europe, in 1993.

The EBU's members operate nearly 2,000 television and radio channels between them, along with numerous online platforms. Together, they reach audiences of more than 1bn. people around the world, broadcasting in more than 120 languages.

The EBU operates the News Exchange, which distributes many thousands of news items a year. Euroradio relays concerts, operas, sports fixtures and major news events via its satellite and IP network. The EBU's Eurovision Operations Department has a permanent network comprising more than 100 satellite channels on eight different satellites, and a fibre network with almost 200 nodes spanning the globe.

Headquarters: L'Ancienne Route 17A, CH-1218 Grand-Saconnex, Geneva, Switzerland. Website: http://www.ebu.ch Email: ebu@ebu.ch Director-General: Noel Curran (Ireland).

Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC)

Founded in 1992 to promote economic co-operation in the Black Sea region. Priority areas of interest include: trade and economic development; banking and finance; communications; energy; transport; agriculture and agro-industry; healthcare and pharmaceutics; environmental protection; tourism; science and technology; exchange of statistical data and economic information; combating organized crime, illicit trafficking of drugs, weapons and radioactive materials, all acts of terrorism and illegal immigration.

Members. Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine.

Observers. Austria, Belarus, Black Sea Commission, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, Energy Charter Secretariat, European Commission, France, Germany, International Black Sea Club, Israel, Italy, Poland, Slovakia, Tunisia, USA.

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation is the BSEC parliamentary dimension. The BSEC Business Council is composed of representatives from the business circles of the member states. The Black Sea Trade and Development Bank is considered as the financial pillar of the BSEC. There is also an International Center for Black Sea Studies and a Coordination Center for the Exchange of Statistical Data and Economic Information.

Headquarters: Darüşşafaka Cad. Seba Center İş Merkezi, No: 45 Kat 3, İstinye, 34460 Sarıyer, İstanbul, Turkey. Website: http://www.bsec-organization.org Email: info@bsec-organization.org Secretary-General: Michael B. Christides (Greece).

Danube Commission

History and Membership. The Danube Commission was constituted in 1949 according to the Convention regarding the

regime of navigation on the Danube signed in Belgrade on 18 Aug. 1948. The Belgrade Convention, amended by the Additional Protocol of 26 March 1998, declares that navigation on the Danube from Kelheim to the Black Sea (with access to the sea through the Sulina arm and the Sulina Canal) is equally free and open to the nationals, merchant shipping and merchandise of all states as to harbour and navigation fees as well as conditions of merchant navigation. The Commission holds annual sessions and is composed of one representative from each of its 11 member countries: Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia and Ukraine.

Functions. To ensure that the provisions of the Belgrade Convention are carried out; to establish a uniform buoying system on all navigable waterways; to establish the basic regulations for navigation on the river and ensure facilities for shipping; to coordinate the regulations for river, customs and sanitation control as well as the hydrometeorological service; to collect relevant statistical data concerning navigation on the Danube; to propose measures for the prevention of pollution of the Danube caused by navigation; and to update its recommendations regularly with a view to bringing them in line with European Union regulations on inland waterway navigation.

Official languages: German, French and Russian. Headquarters: Benczúr utca 25, 1068 Budapest, Hungary. Website: http://www.danubecommission.org Email: secretariat@danubecom-intern.org President: Gordan Grlić Radman (Croatia). Director-General: Petar Margić (Croatia).

European Trade Union Confederation (ETUC)

Established in 1973, the ETUC is recognized by the EU, the Council of Europe and EFTA as the only representative crosssectoral trade union organization at a European level. It has grown steadily with a membership of 89 National Trade Union Confederations from 37 countries and ten European Industry Federations with a total of 60m. members. The Congress meets every four years; the 13th Statutory Congress took place in Paris in Sept.–Oct. 2015.

Address: 5 Blvd Roi Albert II, B-1210 Brussels, Belgium. Website: http://www.etuc.org Email: etuc@etuc.org General Secretary: Luca Visentini (Italy).

Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS)

The Alliance of Small Island States was established in 1990 by a coalition of small island and low-lying coastal nations. It seeks to co-ordinate members' lobbying efforts within the United Nations system in relation to the environmental and developmental challenges facing them—especially the adverse effects of climate change.

Organization. The AOSIS has no formal charter or permanent Secretariat. However, there is a Bureau, made up of the chairperson and two vice-chairs, appointed from the UN Permanent Representatives of countries from each of the organization's three