ARGENTINA; AUSTRALIA: Australian Antarctic Territory; CHILE; FRANCE: Southern and Antarctic Territories; NEW ZEALAND: Ross Dependency; NORWAY: Queen Maud Land; UNITED KINGDOM: British Antarctic Territory.

12 countries which had maintained research stations in Antarctica during International Geophysical Year, 1957-58 (Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Chile, France, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, South Africa, the USSR, the UK and the USA) signed the Antarctic Treaty (Washington Treaty) on 1 Dec. 1959. Austria, Belarus, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Colombia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Italy, North Korea, South Korea, Malaysia, Monaco, the Netherlands, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, Uruguay and Venezuela subsequently acceded to the Treaty. The Treaty reserves the Antarctic area south of 60° S. lat. for peaceful purposes, provides for international co-operation in scientific investigation and research, and preserves, for the duration of the Treaty, the status quo with regard to territorial sovereignty, rights and claims. The Treaty entered into force on 23 June 1961. The 50 nations party to the Treaty (28 consultative or voting members and 22 nonconsultative parties) meet biennially.

An agreement reached in Madrid in April 1991 and signed by all 39 parties in Oct. imposes a ban on mineral exploitation in Antarctica for 50 years, at the end of which any one of the 28 voting parties may request a review conference. After this the ban may be lifted by agreement of three quarters of the nations then voting, which must include the present 28.

Headquarters: Maipú 757 Piso 4, C1006ACI, Buenos Aires, Argentina. Website: http://www.ats.aq Email: ats@ats.aq Executive Secretary: Manfred Reinke (Germany).

Further Reading

Elliott, L. M., International Environmental Politics: Protecting the Antarctic. 1994

Jørgensen-Dahl, A. and Østreng, W., *The Antarctic Treaty System in World Politics*. 1991

Triggs, Gillian D. (ed.) The Antarctic Treaty Regime: Law, Environment and Resources. 2009

Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT)

The Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons opened for signatories on 1 July 1968. It came into force on 5 March 1970. A review meeting takes place every five years. The initial treaty was limited to a 25-year term but it was extended indefinitely in 1995.

The treaty aims to prevent the spread of nuclear weapons and weapons technology, to promote co-operation in the peaceful uses of nuclear energy and to further the goal of achieving nuclear disarmament and general and complete disarmament. The International Atomic Energy Agency (*see* page 24) is responsible for setting safeguards to ensure compliance.

Of the treaty's 190 members only five have nuclear weapon capabilities: China, France, Russia, UK and USA. Three states known or believed to have developed nuclear weapons have not ratified the treaty: India, Israel and Pakistan. North Korea withdrew from the treaty in 2003, the only state to have done so.

See also Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) on page 25.

Website:

http://www.un.org/disarmament/WMD/Nuclear/NPT.shtml

Leading Think Tanks

American Enterprise Institute (for Public Policy Research)

Founded 1943. Private, non-partisan think tank based around principles of private liberty, individual opportunity and free enterprise. Six principal research areas: economics; foreign and defence policy; health; legal and constitutional studies; political and public opinion studies; social and cultural studies.

Address: 1150 Seventeenth St., NW, Washington, D.C., 20036, USA. *Website*: http://www.aei.org

President: Arthur C. Brooks.

Asian Development Bank Institute

Founded 1997. Leading institute engaged in building capacity, skills and knowledge related to poverty reduction and other areas that support long-term growth and competitiveness in developing economies in the Asia-Pacific region. Research covers inclusive and sustainable growth, regional co-operation and integration, and governance for policies and institutions.

Address: Kasumigaseki Bldg 8F, 3-2-5 Kasumigaseki, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo 100-6008, Japan. Website: http://www.adbi.org Director: Yasuro Narita.

Brookings Institution

Founded 1916. Independent, frequently cited as the world's best think tank. Goals are to strengthen American democracy; foster the economic and social welfare, security and opportunity of all Americans; and secure a more open, safe, prosperous and cooperative international system. Priority research areas include energy and climate, growth through innovation, managing global change, and opportunity and wellbeing.

Address: 1775 Massachusetts Ave., NW, Washington, D.C., 20036, USA. Website: http://www.brookings.edu President: Strobe Talbott.

Bruegel

Founded 2004. Independent European think tank working in the field of international economics. Research areas: emerging powers and global governance structures; Europe's macroeconomic and structural challenges; competitiveness, innovation and financial regulation; climate change and energy.

Address: Rue de la Charité 33, B-1210 Brussels, Belgium. Website: http://www.bruegel.org Director: Guntram B. Wolff.

Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

Founded 1910. Independent think tank specializing in international affairs with particular focus on Russia and Eurasia, China, the Indian subcontinent/South Asia, globalization, nonproliferation and security affairs. Aims to advance co-operation between nations and promote active international engagement by the USA and become 'the first truly multinational—ultimately global—think tank'. Offices in Washington, D.C., Moscow, Beijing, Beirut and Brussels.