LIBERIA

Area: 112,600 sq. km Population: 1,900,000 Capital: Monrovia

Head of State and Commander-in-Chief: Samuel Kanyon

Doe

Minister of Internal Affairs: Edward K. Sackor

Liberia is divided into nine counties (capitals in brackets):

Bong (Gbarnga) Mai Cape Mount (Robertsport) Mon Grand Bassa (Buchanan) Nim Grand Gedeh (Tchien) Sind Lofa (Voiniama)

Maryland (Harper) Montserrado (Monrovia) Nimba (Saniouellie) Sinoe (Greenville)

The ruling True Whig Party was overthrown by a military coup in April 1980 and President William Tolbert and many of his aides were summarily executed. Subsequent details are unclear as regards the changes made to the Liberian National Police Force, although it appears that the organization by counties still applies. The army is responsible for the maintenance of public order.

Liberian National Police Force, Capitol Hill, Monrovia