WORLD POLICE AND PARAMILITARY FORCES

KIRIBATI

Area: 684 sq. km Population: 58,818 Capital: Tarawa

Head of State: Ieremia Tabai (President) Minister of Home Affairs: Teatao Teannaki

The former colony of the Gilbert and Ellice Islands had two police forces. The Colony Constabulary (formed in 1916) had overall jurisdiction and the District Police performed local duties. A Police Force Reserve was established in 1952 and remains in existence. In 1975 the former Ellice Islands servered its constitutional links with the Gilbert Islands and took a new name Tuvalu. The Gilbert Islands achieved independence as the Republic of Kiribati.

The Kiribati Police is headed by a Commissioner of Police, who is also the Superintendent of Prisons and is responsible for the Immigration Service and the Fire Department. Personnel strength is approximately 200.

Police Headquarters, Betio, Tarawa

114