HONG KONG

Area: 1,065.02 sq. km Population: 5,313,000 Capital: Victoria

Governor: Sir Edward Youde

Secretary for Home Affairs: Hon. D. C. Bray

Emergency services: 999

Hong Kong comprises the island of the same name, Kowloon and the New Territories. It is planned to hand over the colony's administration to the Chinese Government in 1997. Negotiations for the transfer of sovereignty were successfully concluded in late September 1984.

ORGANIZATION

The Royal Hong Kong Police Force is headed by a Commissioner, and comprises a headquarters and four Police Districts: Hong Kong Island, Kowloon, New Territories and Marine. An administrative reorganization scheme is being implemented gradually, to reflect the considerable expansion of the force over the last decade. The Hong Kong Police Force has a poor reputation in respect of corruption.

The Police Headquarters comprises three Wings plus the Criminal Investigation Department (CID), and the Special Branch. The Civil and Administrative Wing includes the Traffic Branch and a number of departments, such as Clubs and Messes, Finance and Stores, Planning and Research, and

Public Relations. The Operations Wing has two main Branches (Communications and Transport, and Uniform, the latter with the General Duties Attachment), the Police Tactical Unit and the Auxiliary Police Force. The Personnel Wing runs the Police Training School and the Police Cadet School, and deals with firearms licensing, registration of societies and welfare.

The CID comprises three Offices (Commercial Crime, Criminal Records and Prevention of Crime) and two Bureaux (Anti-Corruption and Narcotics and Triad Society). It has operational control over the Police Dog Unit. Each police district has a CID element.

The Police Tactical Unit is a dedicated riot control force, with about 1400 personnel based in the New Territories. There is also a Special Duties Unit, and the Police Training Contingent, which provides operational training and may assist the Police Tactical Unit in the internal security role. The Auxiliary Police Force is a volunteer organisation employed on supplementary crowd control work.

Each Police District comprises a number of Divisions, as detailed below:

Hong Kong Island District: Central, North Point, Wan Chai, Western

Kowloon District: Kowloon City, Kwun Tong, Mong Kok, Sham Shui Po, Wong Tai Sin, Yau Ma Tei

New Territories District: Frontier, Sha Tin, Tsuen Wan, Yuen Long

Marine District: Harbour, Islands, Sectors

Each Division has a number of police stations, police posts and reporting centres.

Police recruits must pass a six-month training course at the Police Training School. The number of applications to join