## **EQUATORIAL GUINEA República de Guinea Ecuatorial**

Area: 28,051 sq. km Population: 380,000 Capital: Malabo

Head of State: Lieut.-Col. Teodoro Obiang Nguema

Mbasogo (President)

Minister of State Security: Fructuoso Mba Onana Nahama

Equatorial Guinea comprises the islands of Bikogo and Pagalu, as well as other smaller islands. It was a Spanish colony until gaining independence in October 1968. The first president, Francisco Macias Nguema, instituted an authoritarian regime which alienated both the Spanish, who maintained a small paramilitary force in the islands, and the native population.

When Nguema was overthrown by his Defence Minister (and nephew) in August 1979, the country's internal situation improved; the authoritarian excesses of the former president were curtailed and his secret police and youth movement disbanded.

A small paramilitary police force exists (Guardia Civil), with about 2000 personnel and headquarters at Malabo. It is controlled by the Ministry of State Security and advised by Spanish officers. Training is undertaken at Guardia Civil schools in Spain. No other details are known.