WORLD POLICE AND PARAMILITARY FORCES

EGYPT Jumhuriyat Misr-al-Arabiya

Area: 1,002,000 sq. km Population: 46,000,000 Capital: Cairo [Al Qahira]

Head of State: Muhammad Hosni Mubarak (President) Minister of the Interior: Ahmad Rushdi

Egypt is divided into 25 governorates (Mudiriyat), as follows (capitals are shown in brackets):

Alexandria (Alexandira)Dal-Bahr al-AhmarD(Al-Ghurdaqah)Faal-Wadi al-JadidG(Al-Kharijah)GAswân (Aswân)IsiAsyût (Asyût)KBehera (Damanhur)Beni Suef (Beni-Suef)MCairo (Cairo)M

Damietta (Damietta) Daq ahlîya (Mansûra) Faiyûm (Faiyûm) Gharbîya (Tanta) Gîza (Gîza) Ismailia (Ismailia) Kafr el Sheikh (Kafr el-Sheikh) Menûfiya (Shibin-el-kom) Mersa Matruh (Matruh) Minya (Minya) Port Said (Port Said) Qalyûbîya (Benha) Qena (Qena) Sharqîya (Zagazig) Sinai (Al-Arish) Sohag (Sohag) Suez (Suez)

ORGANIZATION

Police activities in Egypt are controlled by the Public Security Department of the Ministry of the Interior. The Public Security Police Corps is organized by governorates, but Cairo, Alexandria, Port Said and the larger cities have municipal forces under limited local control. The usual General, Crime and Traffic Directorates are also organized within each governorate. Local Public Security chiefs are as a rule army officers.

There are two internal security organs, with complementary functions. General Intelligence (GI) is responsible for data gathering and the surveillance of disaffected elements; the Directorate General of State Security Investigations (DGSSI) investigates political offences uncovered by GI. The Armed Forces have their own security service.

Paramilitary forces include a 12,000-man Border Corps and a home defence organization, the Egyptian National Guard (80,000 personnel).