BURKINA FASO République de Burkina Faso

Area: 274,122 sq. km Population: 7,290,000 Capital: Quagadougou

Head of State: Capt. Thomas Sankara (President and

Minister of the Interior and Security)

Burkina Faso is divided into 11 departments (capitals shown

in brackets):

Centre (Ouagadougou) Centre-Est (Tenkodogo) Centre-Nord (Kaya)

Est (Fada Ngourma) Hauts-Bassins (Bobo Diou

Lasso)

Centre-Ouest (Koudougou) Komoe (Banfora) Nord (Ouahigouya) Sahel (Dori)

Sud-Ouest (Gaoua) Volta Noire (Dedougou)

In August 1984 it was announced that Upper Volta would be renamed Burkina Faso (Land of the Incorruptible), to mark the first anniversary of the present regime.

ORGANIZATION

The Burkina Faso police forces are the Sûreté Nationale and the Gendarmerie Nationale. The Sûreté includes the Préfectures de Police of Ouagadougou and Bobo Dioulasso, the Service Central de Sûreté and the Compagnies Républicaines de Sécurité (CRS) – exactly as in France.

The paramilitary Gendarmerie Nationale 1500 personnel) and the ceremonial Garde Nationale are under the authority of the Ministry of the Armed Forces.