## **BRUNEI**

Area: 5800 sq. km Population: 191,770

Capital: Bandar Seri Begawan

Head of State: Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah

Brunei is divided into four districts: Belait, Brunei/Muara,

Temburong and Tutong.

The Royal Brunei Police Force was formed in 1920 and was reorganized several times until it reached today's efficient standard. The Royal Brunei Police Force (Pasokan Polis Diraja Brunei) comprises two main police districts (Polis Daerah) – Brunei (headquarters Bandar Seri Begawan) and Belait (headquarters Kuala Belait) – and is commanded by a Commissioner of Police (Pesurohjaya Polis). It is organized in accordance with former British colonial practice, with

general duties, crime and other branches. The Criminal Investigation Department (Ja batan Penyiasat Jenayah) includes the country's internal security unit, the Special Branch (Chawangan Khas). There are also Marine Police, the Airport Police and the Royal Guard.

There is a Police Reserve Force (Pasokan Simpanan Polis), consisting of two companies – A Company at Kuala Belait and B Company at Bandar Seri Begawan – and a Police Training Centre at Manggis. Selected officers are also given complementary training in the UK, Hong Kong and Singapore. A volunteer police force is maintained to protect the oilfields.

The current personnel strength of the police is about 1900. The Special Branch is complemented by an intelligence-gathering force, the Department of Security and Intelligence, with about 250 personnel.

Ibu Pejabat Polis Gadong (Police HQ Gadong), Bandar Seri Begawan (3901)

Pusat Latehan Polis (Police Training Centre), Manggis (271)