ZAÏRE République du Zaïre

Area: 2,344,885 sq. km Population: 31,940,000 Capital: Kinshasa

Head of State: Marshal Mobutu Sésé Séko Kuku Ngbendu

wa ZaBanga (President)

Administrative reorganization took place in December 1966 and reduced the number of provinces from 21 to 8; these are now known as regions. With capitals shown in brackets they are:

Bas-Zaïre (Matadi) Bandundu (Bandundu) Equateur (Mbandaka) Haut-Zaïre (Kisangani) Kasai Oriental (Mbuji-Mayi) Kivu (Bukavu) Shaba (Lubumbashi)

Kasai Occidental (Kananga)

Shaba is the former province of Katanga, which was independent between July 1960 and January 1963.

When Zaïre was a Belgian colony (known as the Belgian Congo), most police duties were given to the Public Force (Force Publique), a gendarmerie-type outfit with riot control and aviation elements. There was also a municipal force for Leopoldville (as Kinshasa was then called), and a Judiciary Police – in fact, the same organization as in Belgium, modified to suit local conditions. The same applies today. Kinshasa maintains a police force, with jurisdiction limited to the area within the city boundaries. There is a Judiciary Police (Police Judiciaire des Parquets), also based in Kinshasa

The Gendarmerie Nationale du Zaïre is a paramilitary force which maintains law and order (in co-operation with the army) outside the main cities and towns. It has a personnel strength of about 35,000.

Police Judiciaire des Parquets, Building du 20 Mai, boulevard du 30 Juin, Kinshasa 1