## SYRIA al-Jamhouriya al Arabia as-Souriya

Area: 185,180 sq. km Population: 9,840,000 Capital: Damascus [Dimashq]

Head of State: Lieut.-Gen. Hafez al-Assad (President) Minister of Defence and Security: RiFaat al Assad

Syria comprises the Damascus metropolitan area (Mintaqat) and 13 administrative districts (Mohafaza), named after their chief cities:

Aleppo	Homs
Damascus (excluding city)	Idlib
Deir- el-Zor	Kunaitra
Derá	Lattakia
Hama	Raqqa
Hassakeh	Sweida

## ORGANIZATION

The Syrian Public Security Police is headed by a Director General and is organized by administrative districts. Damascus has a city police force, which, like the provincial forces, is subordinated to centralized command. There are four main branches: Administration, Criminal Investigation, Public Order and Traffic.

The Police is supplemented by two paramilitary forces: the 8000-man Gendarmerie and the 1800-man Desert Guard, which is responsible for guarding the country's desert borders. Local defence duties are entrusted to a 150,000-man People's Militia. Problems of a political nature which may become threats to the security of the state are dealt with by the Detachments for the Defence of the Regime, an organization closely associated with the army, with an estimated strength of at least 5000.

Internal security duties are co-ordinated by the National Security Council, and performed by the General Intelligence Directorate (which is in charge of data gathering, surveillance and counterespionage) and the Air Force Intelligence Unit, which is also responsible for the safety of the President.

Directorate General of Public Security, Damascus