#### **Further Reading**

Martha, Rutsel Silvestre J., The Legal Foundations of INTERPOL. 2010

## **Islamic Development Bank**

The Agreement establishing the IDB (Banque islamique de développement) was adopted at the Second Islamic Finance Ministers' Conference held in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia in Aug. 1974. The Bank, which is open to all member countries of the Organization of the Islamic Conference, commenced operations in 1975. Its main objective is to foster economic development and social progress of member countries and Muslim communities individually as well as jointly in accordance with the principles of the Sharia. It is active in the promotion of trade and the flow of investments among member countries, and maintains a Special Assistance Fund for member countries suffering natural calamities. The Fund is also used to finance health and educational projects aimed at improving the socio-economic conditions of Muslim communities in non-member countries. A US\$1.5bn. IDB Infrastructure Fund was launched in 1998 to invest in projects such as power, telecommunications, transportation, energy, natural resources, petro-chemical and other infrastructure-related sectors in member countries.

Members (56 as of Feb. 2013). Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Benin, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Comoros, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Suriname, Syria, Tajikistan, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Yemen.

Official language: Arabic. Working languages: English, French. Headquarters: PO Box 5925, Jeddah 21432, Saudi Arabia. Website: http://www.isdb.org
President: Ahmed Mohamed Ali Al-Madani (Saudi Arabia).

\_\_\_\_

## Médecins Sans Frontières/Doctors Without Borders (MSF)

*Origin.* Médecins Sans Frontières/Doctors Without Borders was founded in 1971 by a small group of doctors and journalists who believed that all people have a right to emergency relief.

Functions. MSF was one of the first non-governmental organizations to provide both urgently needed medical assistance and to publicly bear witness to the plight of the people it helps. Today MSF is an international medical humanitarian organization with 19 sections and several additional offices around the world. Every year MSF sends around 3,000 volunteer doctors, nurses, other medical professionals, logistical experts, water and sanitation engineers, and administrators to join approximately 25,000 locally hired staff to provide medical aid in over 60 countries. MSF was awarded the 1999 Nobel Peace Prize.

*Headquarters*: MSF International Office, Rue de Lausanne 78, CP 116, CH-1211 Geneva 21, Switzerland.

Website: http://www.msf.org

Secretary-General: Jérôme Oberreit (France). International Council President: Unni Karunakara (India).

### **Nobel Prizes**

When the scientist, industrialist and inventor Alfred Nobel died in 1896, he made provision in his will for his fortune to be used for prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature and Peace. The Norwegian Nobel Committee awards the Nobel Peace Prize, and the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm (founded 1900; Mailing address: Box 5232, SE-10245, Stockholm, Sweden) awards the other four prizes plus the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel (often referred to as the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences). The Prize Awarding Ceremony takes place on 10 Dec., the anniversary of Nobel's death. The last ten recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize, worth 8m. Sw. kr. in 2012 (down from 10m. Sw. kr. for the previous 11 years), are:

2003 – Shirin Ebadi (Iran) for her work fighting for democracy and the rights of women and children.

2004 - Wangari Maathai (Kenya) for her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace.

2005 – Mohamed ElBaradei and the IAEA for their efforts to prevent nuclear energy from being used for military purposes and to ensure that nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is used in the safest possible way.

2006 – Muhammad Yunus and Grameen Bank of Bangladesh for their efforts to create economic and social development from below.

2007 – the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change and Al Gore for their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change.

2008 - Martti Ahtisaari (Finland) for his important efforts, on several continents and over more than three decades, to resolve international conflicts.

2009 – Barack Obama (USA) for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and co-operation between peoples.

2010 – Liu Xiaobo (China) for his long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China.

2011 – Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (Liberia), Leymah Gbowee (Liberia) and Tawakkul Karman (Yemen) for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full participation in peace-building work.

2012 – the European Union (EU) for its contribution for over six decades to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights. The Nobel Committee highlighted the EU's role in bringing together historical enemies Germany and France, introducing democracy to Greece, Spain, Portugal and to the former socialist countries and advancing democracy and human rights in Turkey. The EU has played a stabilizing part in transforming Europe 'from a continent of war to a continent of peace'.

# Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel was set up by the Swedish central bank in 1968. The last ten recipients of the prize, worth 8m. Sw. kr. in 2012 (down from 10m. Sw. kr. for the previous 11 years), are:

2003 – Robert F. Engle III (USA) for methods of analyzing economic time series with time-varying volatility (ARCH), and Clive W. J. Granger (UK) for methods of analyzing economic time series with common trends (cointegration).

2004 - Finn E. Kydland (Norway) and Edward C. Prescott (USA) for their contributions to dynamic macroeconomics: the