Myanmar Naingngandaw (Union of Myanmar)
  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


After Burma’s invasion of the kingdom of Assam, the British East India Company retaliated in defence of its Indian interests and in 1826 drove the Burmese out of India. Territory was annexed in south Burma but the kingdom of Upper Burma, ruled from Mandalay, remained independent. A second war with Britain in 1852 ended with the British annexation of the Irrawaddy Delta. In 1885 the British invaded and occupied Upper Burma. In 1886 all Burma became a province of the Indian empire. There were violent uprisings in the 1930s and in 1937 Burma was separated from India and permitted some degree of self-government. Independence was achieved in 1948. In 1958 there was an army coup, and another in 1962 led by Gen. Ne Win, who installed a Revolutionary Council and dissolved parliament.


House Arrest Navigable Water British East India Company Indian Interest Draught Cattle 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Aung San Suu Kyi, Freedom from Fear and Other Writings. London, 1991Google Scholar
  2. Carey, P. (ed.) Burma: The Challenge of Change in a Divided Society. London, 1997Google Scholar
  3. Thant Mymt-U, The Making of Modern Burma. CUP, 2001Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2005

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations