Economic Co-operation Organization (ECO)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


An intergovernmental organization established in 1985 by Iran, Pakistan and Turkey for the purpose of promoting regional economic co-operation among member states. Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan joined in 1992, bringing the total of member states to 10. In 1999 the Organization obtained observer status at the World Trade Organization.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2000

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations