Danube Commission

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


History and Membership. The Danube Commission was constituted in 1949 according to the Convention on the regulation of shipping on the Danube signed in Belgrade on 18 Aug. 1948. The Belgrade Convention declared that navigation on the Danube from Ulm to the Black Sea (with access to the sea through the Sulina arm and the Sulina Canal) is equally free and open to the nationals, merchant shipping and merchandise of all states as to harbour and navigation fees as well as conditions of merchant navigation. The Commission holds annual sessions and is composed of 1 representative from each of its members countries: Austria, Bulgaria, Hungary, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Ukraine and the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia. Croatia, Germany and Moldova have observer status.


Member Country Free Association Merchant Shipping External Affair Annual Session 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1998

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations